SC&UA is home to the University Archives and the Manuscripts Collection, which you may access by request. SC&UA is also home to a number of books, including the Rare Books Collection, the Stageberg Linguistics Collection, the Small Press Collection, the Wadle Paperback Collection, and the American Fiction Collection. You can read about these collections here. All of these books can be found in the library's online catalog.
Materials in SC&UA are open for public use and research, but because they are often fragile, rare, and valuable, the materials may not be used without supervision in the Special Collections reading room. We are more than happy to help you find and use the materials you may be interested in - just ask!
To speed up the research process, you may request specific materials from the archives ahead of time, and we will have the materials ready for you when you visit the reading room.
There are a few guidelines that all researchers in SC&UA must follow:
If you have any other questions, ask us! There is usually somebody ready to help you at the SC&UA reference desk. You can also reach us via email at firstname.lastname@example.org
If you would like to learn more about archives and how to use them, please visit the Society of American Archives' guide, "What are Archives?"
The following are a selection of materials from the Manuscripts Collection. All collections within the Manuscripts Collection can be found in finding aids here.
The following are a selection of materials from University Archives. All collections within University Archives can be found in the classification schedule here.
IndexUNI is Rod Library's online repository of articles from official campus publications, dating back to 1876. Such publications include Old Gold, the Normal Eyte, and the Northern Iowan, among others.
You can search this database through:
You can narrow your search in the library catalog by using subject headings, which are generally topics, places, events, people, organizations, etc that a book or article is about. To search using subject headings, use the "subject" option from the dropdown in the advanced search.
You can also find relevant subjects from an individual record, such as from a book, and identify other relevant materials by clicking on the subject.
Some subjects that may help you in your research include: