Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

International Baccalaureate Program - UNI Rod Library Resources: Stats/Data

Guide and portal to Rod Library databases that can be accessed on the campus of UNI.

Iowa State Data Center

Iowa State Data Center

The Iowa State Data Center is a great place to search for Iowa-focused data on:  employment/unemployment, health, housing, income, language, population, poverty, race.

Iowa data is reported at the state, county, or in some cases metropolitan area/city/town level. 

State-by-state comparisons are available for many variable.

Data ranges often cover ten to fifteen year spans (e.g. from 2005 to 2016).

County Quick Facts provide population data from 1850 to 2017 as well as current data on age, characteristics of commute to work, disabilities, educational attainment, ethnicity/ancestry, gender, household size, income, occupation (by general category), poverty rates, race, unemployment rates, and veteran status for each county in Iowa.

City Quick Facts (same as above - but for hundreds of Iowa towns and cities).

 

State Data Center Tutorial (Word Document)

Health Statistics - Data.CDC.gov

Data.CDC.gov is the data repository for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.  Data.CDC.gov provides a tremendous array of data across characteristics such as drug use and drug poisoning mortality, disabilities, injury, teen pregnancy, motor vehicle mortality, vaccinations and disease.

Data.CDC.gov can be searched by characteristic (e.g. drug poisoning), or by desired geographic characteristic (e.g. county).  Data.CDC.gov data tables - which can be very large - can also be searched by specific location (e.g. Black Hawk County).

American Fact Finder

American Fact Finder - Population and Demographic Information from the U. S. Census Bureau

American FactFinder is the powerful demographic database from the U.S. Census Bureau.  American FactFinder will provide data on total population as well as distributions for characteristics such as age, race, gender, education attainment, housing, veteran status, disability status, citizenship status.

County data can be quickly accessed via Community Facts (2017 Population Estimates, 2016 American Community Survey, and both the 2010 and 2000 Census).  

STATSAMERICA

Stats America

STATSAMERICA will allow you to locate demographic data on states, counties, cites/towns, and even neighborhoods.

Options include USA States in Profile, USA Counties in Profile, USA Towns in Profile, and the Big Radius Tool (to find information on regions).

Uniform Crime Reports (rates of violent and property crime)

Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Statistics - UCR Data Tool.  This U.S. Dept. of Justice resource provides state-to-state comparisons across a wide range of violent crime and property crime variables.

2018 Statsitical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)

Current Issue of the Statistical Abstract of the United States - from ProQuest

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. is a commercial database that provides a wide range of demographic and economic national data. 

State-by-state comparisons can be found by:

  1. clicking on a category (e.g. Sec 13 Income, Expenditures, Poverty, and Wealth) 
  2. then clicking on "Breakdown by" in the left-hand column of the results
  3. then clicking on the "state" options  e.g.  state(10)

It is possible search earlier editions or all editions of this database (2013-2017) by changing the Select edition option on the first page of this database.

Historic Statistical Abstracts of the U.S. (1879 - 2012)

Historic Collection of Statistical Abstract of the United States from 1879 to 2012

Statistical Abstracts of the United States were treasure troves of statistics (once made freely available by the U.S. Government).

Statistical Abstracts are still great one-stop resource for historic statistics - however - only some of the tables provide state-by-state information (some metropolitan area stats but data at the county level).