This is the "Home" page of the "Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This guide provides links to the research literature in the biological and life sciences.
Last Updated: Feb 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uni.edu/biology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Biology-Focused Databases

Biological Abstracts

Very large biology-focused database covering years 1995 - present.  Search may be limited to "topic" or "title".  Like Web of Science, Biological Abstracts provides direct access to the citation software EndNote Web.

    

Zoological Record

For recent research (2009 - present) on animal focused biology, Zoological Record, like Biological Abstracts and Web of Science, can be searched by "topic" or "title" and plays well with EndNote Web.

    

PubMed (the original)

Very strong in biomedical research.  Use advanced search and try limiting to Title/Abstract.  This link provides the Find it! @ UNI when off campus.

    

MEDLINE (PubMed via Web of Knowledge/Science)

This version of PubMed works very well with EndNote Web.  Though it Includes Topic, Title, and MeSH search options there is no searching by Abstract.  This link provides the Find it! @ UNI when off campus.

    

JSTOR

Another database for locating more historical biological research (back to ~ 1840).  You may wish to "narrow by discipline."  When you first arrive at JSTOR, scroll down the page and check on or more of the following boxes:

 

ScienceDirect  (Elsevier)

This large science database provides access to the extensive Elsevier journal collection from 1995 - present.  Use the "Advanced Search" option which hides in the upper right-hand corner of the first screen.

SpringerLink  (Springer)

This large science database provides access to many Springer journal articles from 1997 - present.  Use the "Advanced Search" option which hides under the "gear" icon to the right of the search box. 

Library Guy

Profile Image
Chris Neuhaus
Contact Info
319 273-3718
Send Email
 

Biology Survival Kit

Biology Databases - Search Protocols

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip