LibGuides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | #

A
Accounting
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Mar 23, 2017
This guide covers tools and resources important for students studying accounting.
Advanced Research Techniques for Communication Sciences and Disorders
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Feb 6, 2017
An advanced guide to search strategies and best practices for databases relevant to the field of communicative disorders.
African American Studies
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Feb 9, 2017
Anthropology
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Feb 9, 2017
B
Battle Analysis
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Mar 10, 2017
Biographical Information
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Feb 7, 2017
Biology
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Jul 28, 2016
This guide provides links to the research literature in the biological and life sciences.
Biology - Strategies for Academic Success - BIOL 1000
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Sep 30, 2016
A guide for students planning to major in the biological sciences.
Boolean Searching
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Aug 2, 2016
What is it and how can it be used?
Botany
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Jul 28, 2016
botany, botannical, plant science, plants, angiosperm, gardening, gardens, gymnosperm, vascular, flowers, seeds, fruit, trees, leaf, leaves
Business Policy and Strategy - MGMT 4175
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Jan 20, 2017
This guide lists and explains company and industry research tools and techniques as they relate to Business Policy and Strategy.
Business Portal
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Feb 17, 2017
Provides links to major tools for finding information about companies, markets and industries, and other business and economics topics.
Business, Legal, Medical and Psychiatry Referral Information
by Angie Cox, Gretchen Gould, Barb Weeg - Last Updated Feb 28, 2017
This guide contains business, legal, medical and psychiatry referral information for the UNI and the Cedar Valley communities.
C
Call Numbers & Classification Systems at Rod Library
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Aug 3, 2016
Rod Library uses Library of Congress, Superintendent of Documents, and Dewey Decimal System to classify books. Read about them here.
CAPSTONE 3140 - Environment, Technology, and Society - Maria Perez-Gonzales
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Dec 17, 2015
Guide to locating quality news/magazine articles on water issues using OneSearch and LexisNexis. Also includes a guide to Google techniques for locating reputable sources on water issues published by the U.S. Government and international organizations
Career Collection
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Feb 7, 2017
Career Decision Making-Spring 2017 (Sullivan)
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Mar 24, 2017
This guide provides a list of resources to help students with their Occupation Research Presentation and Paper.
Career Information & Job Banks Online
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Mar 26, 2016
Chemistry Careers
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Mar 20, 2017
Child Abuse & Neglect
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Jan 12, 2017
Choosing a Topic
by Angie Cox - Last Updated May 4, 2016
Use this guide to learn how to find and develop a topic.
CIEP - Writing 7 - Mike Williams
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jan 3, 2017
CIEP resource page for Writing 7.
Citing Sources and Style Guides
by Angie Cox, Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Aug 30, 2016
Assistance in how to cite sources within the text and in a bibliography/works cited. Also assists in locating style guides in print and online.
Communication Sciences and Disorders
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Feb 13, 2017
A guide to search strategies and best practices for information sources relevant to the field of communication sciences and disorders.
Communication Studies
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Feb 7, 2017
communication studies, electronic media, interactive digital studies, mass media, public relations
Company Information
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Jan 10, 2017
This guide covers important company information and analysis resources.
Construction Management (330:101)
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Jan 20, 2017
Cornerstone - UNIV 1000
by Angie Cox, Anne Marie Gruber, Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Oct 20, 2016
This guide will help you locate topics, sources of information, and provide you with suggestions on where and how to search.
Cornerstone: Rhetoric in Advertising - Corrine Holke-Farnam
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Mar 5, 2017
Guide to advertising-rich historic print and online magazines.
Counseling
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Feb 7, 2017
D
David Rachor - Library Resources
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jan 22, 2017
Rachor, Bassoon, Music Databases, Library Catalogs
Dictionaries (Languages)
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Jul 18, 2016
Digitized World History Sources
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Dec 20, 2016
Distance Learners
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Sep 7, 2016
This guide outlines library services and resources for distance learners at the University of Northern Iowa.
Diverse and Multicultural Children's Literature - LITED 3121 Advanced Children's Literature - Watson and Meachum
by Katelyn Browne - Last Updated Nov 15, 2016
A guide to researching and locating diverse & multicultural children's literature for students in LITED 3121. AS OF NOVEMBER 2016: significant parts of this guide are out-of-date. Updated resources are in progress!
Documentary Films
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Jul 16, 2016
E
Early & Emergent Readers
by Katelyn Browne - Last Updated Feb 15, 2017
Guide to easy readers, early chapter books, and other resources for emergent and early readers. Created by Kyrie Borsay, Graduate Student Assistant to the Youth Collection.
Economics
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Jan 20, 2017
Economy: Sources of Statistics
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Jan 20, 2017
Educational Leadership Research - Alborn-Yilek
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Jun 28, 2016
Resources and techniques for locating research in educational leadership.
Educational Psychology (EDPSYCH 3148) - Forsyth
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jul 5, 2016
This guide was created to support Educational Psychology (EDPSYCH 3148).
Educational Research (MEASRES 6205) - Joram
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Sep 12, 2016
A guide to resources and best practices for educational research.
EndNote Basic
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Oct 26, 2016
This guide explains how to set up free, Web-based EndNote Basic accounts and how to gather, organize, and format references in desired styles. It also provides contact information for users interested in purchasing the desktop version of EndNote.
Entrepreneurship - MKTG 5583 & Entrepreneurial Fundamentals - BUS 2010
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Jan 20, 2017
This guide covers important search concepts and tools in entrepreneurship, particularly those from Rod Library.
Environmental Geology - EARTHSCI 3345 - Sedlacek
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Dec 17, 2015
Resources and search techniques for research in environmental geology.
Evaluating Sources
by Angie Cox - Last Updated May 26, 2016
Is your source credible? Is it a journal or magazine? Learn how to determine the credibility of your sources.
Exploring Issues & Trends in Instructional Technology - INSTTECH 4131 / INSTTECH 5131 - Ping Gao
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jan 5, 2017
Resources and techniques for locating research on Instructional Technology (Educational Technology)
F
Faculty Resources - Adding Library Resources to eLearning Modules
by Jerilyn Marshall, Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Mar 2, 2017
A guide to help UNI Faculty insert Rod Library resources and services into their eLearning course modules.
Family Services
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Feb 7, 2017
Family Services - FAM SERV 1030 (Henninger)
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Feb 6, 2017
Guide to research in Family Services
Family Violence
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Feb 7, 2017
Fashion Trend Analysis (TEXDSGN 3011)
by Jerilyn Marshall, Angela Pratesi - Last Updated Jul 8, 2016
This guide is intended to help students locate information on apparel retailers, such as company history, typical customers, and market share.
Fashion Trend Analysis - TEXDSGN 3011 - Annette Lynch
by Angela Pratesi - Last Updated Dec 17, 2015
Guide to historical magazines and fashion magazines - as well as fashion encyclopedias.
Finance
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Jan 20, 2017
Finding Dissertations
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Oct 16, 2015
Assistance in finding newer or older dissertations.
French Literature
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Jul 18, 2016
G
GEOG 4230 - Rivers - Dave May
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jan 5, 2017
Search engines, ebooks, and tutorials for locating research on rivers.
GEOG 4550 and 6550 - Senior Seminar - Water Resources - Dave May
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jan 30, 2017
Best databases and tutorials for locating research on water resources, drinking water, groundwater or ground water, aquifers, hydrology, water pollution, and water rights.
Geography
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Feb 9, 2017
Global Marketing
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Jan 20, 2017
Global Trade Practices
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Jan 20, 2017
This guide is intended to help students identify important resources and search tools.
Google Tools
by Angie Cox, Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Aug 14, 2015
Learn how to make the most of your Google searches.
Government Information
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Feb 21, 2017
Covers federal, state and local government resources as well as international resources
Graduate Research in KAHHS
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Feb 6, 2017
Guide to resources for graduate research in the School of Kinesiology, Allied Health and Human Services.
Graduate Research in Political Science
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jan 5, 2017
A guide to the best resources and best research practices for graduate research in Political Science
Graduate Research in Technology
by Jim Kelly, Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jan 26, 2017
A portal to databases and a guide to research in technology.
Grantwriting
by Angie Cox, Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Feb 27, 2017
H
History and U.S. Public Policy
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Jun 8, 2016
History Digitized: Photographs, Cartoons, Advertisements & Media
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Apr 7, 2016
Cartoons, Images, Media, Posters, and Advertisements in History
History Digitized: U.S. in Conflict
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Apr 7, 2016
History Digitized: U.S. Presidency
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Apr 7, 2016
History of Costume - TEXDSGN 2004 - Annette Lynch
by Chris Neuhaus, Angela Pratesi - Last Updated Jan 12, 2017
Guide to historical research of fashion and costume design.
History of Mathematics - MATH 3640 and 5640 - Joel Haack - Suzanne Riehl
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Aug 31, 2016
Guide to locating writings on the history of math in books and journals.
History of U.S. Higher Education - POSTSEC 6260 - Waggoner
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Jul 28, 2016
Portal to online and print databases, journals, books, and websites covering the history of higher education
History: Cold War
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Jul 18, 2016
History: Colonial America
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Sep 28, 2016
History: Early Republic
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Sep 28, 2016
History: Gilded Age
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Apr 7, 2016
History: Great Depression
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Sep 28, 2016
History: Iowa
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Apr 7, 2016
History: Ireland
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Jul 13, 2016
History: Revolutionary America
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Apr 5, 2016
History: the West
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Jul 18, 2016
History: United States
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Apr 7, 2016
History: World
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Jul 18, 2016
History: World War II Liberators
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Jul 8, 2016
How-to Videos
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jun 7, 2016
Contains short videos on how to search the library searching system (OneSearch!), library databases, and basic library searching tricks.
Human Relations Book Lists
by Katelyn Browne - Last Updated Feb 23, 2017
Book lists for Kathy Oakland's Human Resources (TEACHING 4170) classes. Created fall 2016.
I
Immigration
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jul 8, 2016
Industry Information
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Jan 20, 2017
International Baccalaureate Program - UNI Rod Library Resources
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jan 30, 2017
Guide and portal to Rod Library databases that can be accessed on the campus of UNI.
Internship Resources
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Mar 26, 2016
Introduction to American Politics - POL AMER 1014 - Holmes
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jan 28, 2017
Library guide to access news about politics, and political magazines. Provides tips on where to search and how to search.
Introduction to Reading Playscripts
by Angela Pratesi - Last Updated Feb 9, 2015
THEATRE 1020
Introduction to the Rod Library
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Mar 6, 2017
This includes an introduction to Rod Library and the services it provides.
Iowa Historical Newspapers
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Feb 3, 2017
J
Japan - HUM 3122 (Dunn)
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Feb 19, 2017
This guide provides links to news sources about Japan, particularly those that are free, published in Japan or in other countries.
L
Language Learning
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Jul 18, 2016
Learning and Motivation in Classroom Contexts - Gabriele
by Angie Cox, Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Feb 7, 2017
A portal to ERIC, PsycINFO, high impact educational psychology journals, and guides to best practices in education research.
LGBTQ+ Literature in the UNI Youth Collection
by Katelyn Browne - Last Updated Feb 21, 2017
An overview to LGBTQ+ Literature for children and young adults. Includes reference materials and titles of historical interest.
M
Mammalogy - BIOL 4164 - James Demastes
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Aug 23, 2016
Guide for locating research on specific mammals. Tips on where to search and how to search.
Management
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Feb 14, 2017
Maps
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Sep 14, 2012
Marketing
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Feb 14, 2017
Marketing Research (MKTG 3116)
by Jim Kelly - Last Updated Feb 17, 2017
Masters in Mathematics Education - Catherine Miller and Elizabeth Hughes
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Jan 20, 2017
Graduate student guide to resources and research methods for mathematics education.
Mathematics
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Aug 11, 2016
Measuring Your Research Impact
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jul 8, 2016
This guide will help researchers to measure and increase the impact of their published work.
MOOCs
by Jerilyn Marshall, Ellen Neuhaus - Last Updated Oct 21, 2016
This guide has been created to provide a central location for the UNI community to learn about MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses)
Music Research
by Angela Pratesi - Last Updated May 13, 2015
This guide provides an overview of research tools and methods relating to music.
N
National History Day Resources for Dike - New Hartford
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Dec 2, 2016
How to locate free historical archives, digitized history, and primary resources. A guide designed for the students from Dike - New Hartford High School who plan to compete in the National History Day contest.
National History Day Resources for Nashua - Plainfield
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Nov 28, 2016
How to locate free historical archives, digitized history, and primary resources. A guide designed for the students from Nashua Plainfield High School who plan to compete in the National History Day contest.
New Developments in Mathematics Education - MATH 6201 - Jihwa Noh and Catherine Miller
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Jul 28, 2016
This guide provides access to databases, ebooks, and online journals for research in mathematics education.
Newspapers & Newspaper Indexes
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Nov 6, 2015
What newspapers can be accessed at Rod Library and how do I find information in them?
O
On Beyond Google
by Jeff Coon - Last Updated Dec 4, 2016
Open Access Resources
by Ellen Neuhaus - Last Updated Dec 1, 2016
This guide is intended for the UNI community to help locate open access resources.
Open Educational Resources (OER)
by Ellen Neuhaus - Last Updated Oct 31, 2016
Orange is the New Black
by Emily Borcherding, Angie Cox - Last Updated Apr 15, 2016
2015-2016 common read book for students enrolled in University of Northern Iowa Cornerstone courses. This guide is a collaboration between Rod Library and the UNI College Reading and Learning Center.
Organic Chemistry Lab - CHEM 2230 - Bumpus
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Jul 28, 2016
Guide to locating chemistry research and chemical data.
Organic Chemistry Lab - CHEM 2230 - Manfredi - Thadison
by Anne Marie Gruber, Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Feb 28, 2017
A guide to sources for: named organic reactions and free radical chlorination. Tips on using SciFinder Scholar and Chemical Abstracts in print.
P
Peer Mentor Guide to Rod Library
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Mar 1, 2017
This guide supports Peer Mentors on the UNI campus. It will help them to locate topics, sources of information, and inform them of the services Rod Library provides.
People with Disabilities in Film
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Feb 7, 2017
Politics: International/Comparative
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Feb 9, 2017
Politics: United States
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Feb 9, 2017
Poster Presentations
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Mar 9, 2017
Primary Sources: Digital Archives, Collections, Libraries, and Repositories - Alex Oberle
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jan 3, 2017
This guide pulls together free (open access) resources from various digital libraries, institutional repositories, and other online initiatives. Search strategies and techniques are given for a number of the major resources.
Principles of Fraud Examination
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Jan 20, 2017
This guide covers tools and resources important for students studying fraud examination.
Principles of Marketing
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Jul 18, 2016
Psychological Assessment
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Oct 10, 2016
Psychology
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Feb 7, 2017
R
Readings in Psychology - PSYCH 6285 (Harton)
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Aug 27, 2016
A guide to search strategies and best practices for information information sources relevant to the field of psychology particularly in support of the Readings in Psychology (PSYCH 6285) course.
Ready Player One | The Filter Bubble
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Feb 9, 2017
2014-15 common read books for students enrolled in University of Northern Iowa Cornerstone courses.
Recent Climate Change - GEOG 2210 - David May
by Angie Cox, Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jan 5, 2017
Provides access to articles on climate change in newspapers and popular science magazines. Tips on where to search and how to search.
Reporting Methodologies and Sources (COMM J 1755) Ogbondah
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Mar 6, 2017
A portal to primary and secondary sources.
Research Basics
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Apr 7, 2016
Learn how to use the library resources in your research process.
Research Basics - Penny O'Connor
by Angie Cox, Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Nov 5, 2015
This guide will help you locate topics, sources of information, and provide you with suggestions on where and how to search.
Research Methods for Sociology (SOC 2020)
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jul 5, 2016
A guide to search strategies and best practices for information information sources relevant to the field of sociology particularly in support of Research Methods for Sociology (SOC 2020) course.
Research Methods in Family Science - FAM SERV 1030 (Barnes)
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jan 3, 2017
Guide to research in Family Science and Family Services
Rod Library Feasibility Study, 2013
by Susan Basye - Last Updated Jan 20, 2014
Rod Library is conducting a feasibility study in fall 2013 with OPN Architects of Cedar Rapids.
S
Scholarly Communication: Information and Resources for the UNI Community
by Angie Cox, Ellen Neuhaus - Last Updated Nov 29, 2016
This guide outlines the basic issues related to scholarly communication.
Schools and American Society - SOCFOUND 3119 - Alkouri - Parpucu
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jan 5, 2017
This guide provides links to powerful tools for locating research on education as well as tips and examples for making the best use of these resources.
Science Education
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Mar 27, 2017
This guide provides Rod Library and web resources on current and future science educators. Note that some subscription resources are available to UNI faculty/staff/students only, or may be available in Rod Library.
SciFinder Scholar
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Dec 17, 2015
This guide will allow you to create a SciFinder Scholar account, access SciFinder Scholar, and provide links to SciFinder Scholar training.
SciFinder Scholar Registration
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Mar 3, 2016
Create an account for SciFinder Scholar
Search Tips & Tricks
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jan 20, 2016
Results too narrow? Too broad? Use this guide to learn how to focus your research and to make your searching more powerful.
Sexuality & Sexual Behavior
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Feb 7, 2017
Social Work
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Feb 7, 2017
Social Work Seminar (Praglin)
by Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Feb 19, 2017
Spanish Research Methods - LANG 6095-01 - Heather Jeronimo
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Feb 9, 2017
This guide outlines major tools for research in Spanish literature and language study.
Spanish Sociolinguistics - SPAN 4046 - Elise DuBord
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Dec 17, 2015
A guide to locating Spanish language research on sociolinguistics and related topics.
Sustainability
by Susan Moore - Last Updated Mar 10, 2015
This guide provides starting points to explore various aspects of sustainability
T
TEACH Act and UNI
by Ellen Neuhaus - Last Updated Dec 18, 2013
This guide is intended for the university community. It summarize standards and requirements established by the TEACH Act.
Terrorism
by Gretchen Gould - Last Updated Oct 21, 2016
TESOL
by Stephanie Kruckeberg, Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Jul 18, 2016
Theatre and Film
by Jerilyn Marshall - Last Updated Mar 3, 2017
Tourism
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jan 19, 2017
The guide covers search concepts and tools important for students studying tourism.
Truncation
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Aug 14, 2015
What is it and how it can be used to broaden your searches.
Types of Information
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Mar 1, 2017
This guide identifies common information sources used at UNI. Learn where and how to find them, how to use them, and why they should be used.
U
UNI Healthy Campus
by Angie Cox, Ellen Neuhaus - Last Updated Feb 28, 2017
This guide supports the campus and Cedar Falls communities in which all members live long, healthy and productive lives.
V
Variations on Favorite Stories
by Katelyn Browne - Last Updated Oct 7, 2016
This LibGuide highlights Youth resources that tell and retell classic fairy tales, folk tales, myths, etc.
Vietnam War
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Feb 7, 2017
Visiting Scholars Guide to Research at Rod Library - UNI GREAT
by Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Jan 25, 2017
A guide to library services, library resources, and library policies as well as tips and suggested best practices for using our databases. A PowerPoint tour of the library is included.
W
Women's Studies
by Barb Weeg - Last Updated Sep 30, 2016
Y
Youth Literature Award Winners
by Katelyn Browne - Last Updated Feb 28, 2017
Need to find award-winning books? This guide will help you find winners and honor books for many prominent youth literature awards in the UNI Youth Collection.

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts

Featured Librarian