English and American Literature

Use the Books/Media tab in OneSearch to find books and other materials in the library.  Here are some examples of good search terms:

American literature, English literature, or similar phrases that include a word for region (American, English, etc.) and a word for type of literature or type of writer:

English drama
American essays
American fiction
authors, American
dramatists, English
poets, English

The word literature or literary combined with other words:

literary landmarks
literature, comparative

The names of literary movements, such as:

deconstruction
modernism
naturalism in literature
realism in literature

Names of authors in an Author search (to find the author's works) or in a Subject search (to find books about the author):

Eliot, George
Wharton, Edith

Authors' names can be used in Keyword searches, alone or connected to other search terms by the word "and":

William Shakespeare
William Shakespeare and criticism

What are Special Collections Books?

• Historical artifacts (e.g. books printed in, say, the 1400s)
• First editions of famous books (e.g. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn).
• Antiquated textbooks.
• Facsimiles of historically significant documents.
• Books containing signatures of the authors.
• Books containing handwriting and marginilia of previous owners.
• Artistic printings and/or re-imaginings of text.
• Books about and by Iowa residents.

Locating Special Collections Books:

               Search the library catalog.

Narrow your search by selecting "location" along the left-hand bar. Select "Special Collections" or "Special Collections Fiction."

               Browse the stacks in Special Collections.

Keep in mind that many of the collections are locked for safety and preservation purposes. You will need to ask a staff member to open the bookcases for you.

               Ask a librarian.

There is a reference desk in Special Collections where a staff member will assist you.

 Using Special Collections Books:

• Special Collections and University Archives is located on the 3rd Floor of the Rod Library (Click for Map) 
• Stay in the reading room! These books can't be checked out.
• Plan your visit. Our hours are located here.
• Wash and thoroughly dry your hands beforehand. Wet or greasy hands can damage old books.
• Leave your bag in a designated cubby.
• No pens! Take notes ONLY with pencils or electronic devices (i.e. laptop or tablet).
• No food or beverages.