Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Psychology: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks

Kazdin, A. E. (Ed.) (2000). Encyclopedia of Psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. (8 volumes)
Rod Library UNI Reference BF 31 E523 2000
Published by the American Psychological Association, this authoritative eight-volume set contains over 1,500 essays discussing psychological concepts and over 400 biographical essays profiling the contributions of key figures of psychology.  Defines terminology in abnormal, biological, clinical, cognitive, cross-cultural, developmental, educational, industrial/organizational, personal, and social psychology as well as the history, interventions, and methodologies of psychology and its relation to other disciplines. 

Weiner, I. B., & Craighead, W.E. (Eds.) (2010). The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology.  (4th. ed.)  Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley. (4 volumes)
Rod Library UNI Reference BF 31 E52 2010
Also available online  through the Gale Virtual Reference Library  
An alphabetically-arranged four-volume encyclopedia about theories, research, and practice in psychology.  Information about people and organizations important in the history of psychology is included.

VandenBos, G.R. (Ed.) (2015). APA Dictionary of Psychology (2nd. ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
Available online through ebrary
Rod Library UNI Reference BF 31 A65 2015
Earlier edition at Rod Library UNI Stacks BF 31 V295 2007
Over 25,000 brief, authoritative entries define terms in psychology (including psychological concepts, processes, and therapies) and identify important individuals, organizations and institutions, and psychological tests and assessment instruments. The entries frequently contain cross-references to other relevant entries. Users who follow the cross references (which are sometimes indicated by small capitals typeface) will develop a fuller understanding of the term.

Longe, J. L. (Ed.). (2016). The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology (3rd ed.). Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, Cengage Learning. 
Available online through Gale Virtual Reference Library. 

The following multi-volume encyclopedias explain specialized terminology and concepts in psychology and often contain references to authoritative, scholarly books or articles for more information:

Handbook of Adolescent Psychology (2 volumes) Rod Library UNI Reference BF 724 H33 2009
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology (2 volumes) Rod Library UNI Reference HF 5548.8 E498 2007
Phobias: The Psychology of Irrational Fear 2015 available online through ProQuest
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology (2 volumes)  Rod Library UNI Reference HM 1007 E53 2007 and available online through ESBCOhost 
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology 2014 available online through EBSCOhost

Subject Guide