Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Career Collection: Identifying Books

Use Books/Media / OneSearch! to Find Books

There are several ways you may search Rod Library for books and other resources about specific occupations, employment statistics, and job hunting. Use the Books/Media tab of OneSearch! located on the Rod Library Web page.  Most of the Library’s recent books on specific careers are located in the Career Collection. To identify books on a career you’re interested in, access Rod Library Web page, click on Books/Media.  Once you have entered a search and have retrieved results you may then limit your results to Career Collection resources by clicking on Location in the left-hand column of your results screen and choosing Rod Library UNI Career Collection and/or Rod Library UNI Career Collection Reference.   

Also try searching Books/Media using the phrase vocational guidance with your career of interest as a Keyword search, for example, business and vocational guidance. You may also find information by using a specific job title, for example, marketing and vocational guidance.

Once you identify some books of interest, look at the Books/Media record for the book by clicking on About for each record of interest. Often terms are given in the Subject portion of the record that may lead you to additional resources. For example, social work and vocational guidance leads to books about the social work occupation. And by looking at the Subject terms for the books and clicking on social service—vocational guidance you would find additional books about this field.

The Career Collection contains other types of career-related information, such as employment trend information, resume writing books, internship directories, and salary updates.

Useful Subject Headings for Career Collection Information:

  • Career Changes
  • Career Development
  • College Graduates--Employment
  • Employment in Foreign Countries
  • Job Descriptions
  • Job Hunting
  • Occupations
  • Professions
  • Resumes (employment)
  • Vocational Interests
  • Vocational Qualifications
  • Wages--College Graduates--United States

Subject Guide