Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Career Collection: Occupational Descriptions

Occupational Descriptions: Learning about Careers

Occupational Outlook Handbook. U.S. Department of Labor.
Online at http://www.bls.gov/ooh/
Rod Library UNI Career Reference HF 5381 A1O36 (most recent edition); next earlier edition in Rod Library Career Circulating
Library has 1970/71-2010/11  in Rod Library UNI Documents L 2.3/4
A good starting place for current occupational information. Authoritative occupational information researched and provided by the U. S. Department of Labor.  Each occupation is analyzed in terms of nature of the work, working conditions, training and/or educational preparation, earnings, job outlook, and similar occupations.  To search online for information about a specific occupation, use the A-Z index.  Explore occupations by Occupation Groups or by using the Select Occupations By function to identify occupations of your selected median pay, education level, or project job growth.  When using the print copy, consult the alphabetical index to find your occupations of interest.

O*NET Dictionary of Occupational Titles
Rod Library Career Reference HB 2595 O16 (most recent edition); also available in Stacks
Online at http://online.onetcenter.org/find
Describes the typical work required in each of 20,000 professional, white-collar, trade, and other occupations. Each occupational description consists of the job title, education/training required, number of people employed, annual earnings, expected job growth, and number of job openings annually. You may search O*NET online by occupational name as a keyword, by the Standard Occupational Code number, by job family (e.g., business and financial operations), and in other ways. By clicking on the Details report view you will obtain more information than given in the print O*NET Dictionary of Occupational Titles (see above). Another advantage of the online version is that you may obtain employment forecasts and salary information for the states, as well as for the nation. The occupational descriptions in O*NET are arranged by the U.S. government’s Standard Occupational Classification numeric scheme. The arrangement permits you to see related job titles and descriptions as a group, rather than scattered throughout an alphabetic arrangement. If using the paper version, consult the alphabetical occupational index at the end of the volume to find the page numbers for the occupations of interest.

O*NET OnLine
http://online.onetcenter.org/find
For each occupation the tasks; necessary knowledge, skills, and abilities; work activities, context, and styles; education level; related occupations; and wages and employment trends are given. You may search O*NET by occupational name as a keyword, by the Standard Occupational Code number, by job family (e.g., business and financial operations), and in other ways. By clicking on the Details report view you will obtain more information than given in the print O*NET Dictionary of Occupational Titles (see above). Another advantage of the online version is that you may obtain employment forecasts and salary information for the states, as well as for the nation.

Occupational Briefs. Chronicle Guidance Publications
Available online as Chronicle Career Library of Occupational Briefs
Informative career reports ("Briefs" and reprints) on over 650 occupations. Each Brief defines the occupation; describes the work performed, typical requirements, working conditions, employment outlook, and related occupations; and identifies sources for additional research. To identify relevant Briefs online click on Alphabetical List of Occupations, then scroll the Alphabetical List or use the A-XYZ list.  To see the full-text Brief, click on View the Occupational Brief

The Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
Rod Library UNI Career Reference HF 5381 E52 (most recent); next earlier edition in Rod Library Career Circulating, earlier editions in Rod Library UNI Stacks
Profiles of over 90 career fields or industries (for example, biology, human resources, or social services) are given in volume 1 to help you understand the basic structure of the field and typical career paths in it. Volumes 2-5 consist of information on specific occupations, including their training requirements.

Occupational Briefs. Chronicle Guidance Publications
Available online as Chronicle Career Library of Occupational Briefs
Informative career reports ("Briefs" and reprints) on over 650 occupations. Each Brief defines the occupation; describes the work performed, typical requirements, working conditions, employment outlook, and related occupations; and identifies sources for additional research. To identify relevant Briefs online click on Alphabetical List of Occupations, then scroll the Alphabetical List or use the A-XYZ list.  To see the full-text Brief, click on View the Occupational Brief.  

Research. Careers booklet series
Rod Library UNI Career Reference HF 5381 A1I5
Over 400 research reports, each providing information about a specific occupation. Each report discusses the work within the career, its history, job settings, education, earnings, opportunities, and sources of additional information. These reports, in contrast to other sources described in this Guide, highlight the attractive and unattractive features of the occupation, discuss the personal qualities needed, and describe a typical work day. To find reports on occupations you are interested in, consult the Careers list posted on the bulletin board at the Career Collection entrance. This series covers occupational specializations which may not be covered by other sources, for example, careers in employment agencies, green energy, music education, or nanotechnology.

Career Decision-Making Tips, Tests, & Tutorials

Career OneStop  
This "one stop" for career, education & training, and resume & interviewing information is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.   Practical, straightforward information about occupational decision-making and the job search.  The Explore Careers  tab leads to self exploration information, to free self assessment tools, and to career and career-planning information.  From the Job Search tab choose State job banks under the Find Jobs section to learn about the job bank from each state's Workforce Development Center.

Quintessential Careers
Provides more than 5,000 pages of college planning advice, career descriptions, and listings of available jobs, with links to informative career planning and job search tutorials and assessment tools.  

JobStar
Provides links to information about careers, jobs, and more.  Under the Get Smart heading, click on the Career Guides link for links to information on career decision-making and on specific careers. Salary Info provides links to over 300 general and specific salary surveys. 

Occupational Briefs. Chronicle Guidance Publications
Available online as Chronicle Career Library of Occupational Briefs
Informative career reports ("Briefs" and reprints) on over 650 occupations. Each Brief defines the occupation; describes the work performed, typical requirements, working conditions, employment outlook, and related occupations; and identifies sources for additional research. To identify relevant Briefs online click on Alphabetical List of Occupations, then scroll the Alphabetical List or use the A-XYZ list.  To see the full-text Brief, click on View the Occupational Brief.  

Sloan Career Cornerstone Center
Information about careers in science, technology, education, and math (STEM) as well as information technology and health care.  Content contributed by 20 professional associations.

Subject Guide