Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Career Collection: Employers and Online Job Banks

Employers

Plunkett's Companion to The Almanac of American Employers: Mid-Size Firms
Rod Library UNI Career Reference HF 5382.75 U6A452 (most recent edition); earlier in Stacks
Information about the fastest-growing mid-size employers in the United States, that is, firms employing 100 to 2,500 employees.  Each entry provides information about a company's type of business, brands/divisions/affiliates, industry, growth plans, financials, and salaries/benefits as well as contact information.  Organized alphabetically by company name, with headquarters, regional, and additional indexes.  Also available in CD format.

The National Job Bank
Rod Library UNI Career Reference HF 5382.75 U6N38 2007
Designed for new college graduates seeking employment. Provides information about over 20,000 U.S. companies engaged in a full range of economic activity. Main section is organized by state and then alphabetically by employer name. The Employer Index, beginning on page 1005, lists companies by industries.

Job Choices 
Accessible through Books/Media to online edition 
Job Choices: Diversity Edition
Accessible through Books/Media to online edition
The Job Choices Web pages, by the National Association of Colleges and Employers, provide information about corporate and governmental employers regularly recruiting college graduates.  Also included are job hunting tips.

For access to online job banks consult the Where the Jobs Are section of the Career Information & Job Banks Online page.  

Online Job Banks and Directories

IowaJobs
Developed by Iowa's Workforce Development Office, a resource listing full and part-time jobs in Iowa well as links to jobs outside the state and resources for job hunters.  Cited as the largest job bank for jobs in Iowa.

Career OneStop   
This "one stop" for career, education & training, and resume & interviewing information is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. From the Job Search tab choose State job banks under the Find Jobs section to learn about the job bank from each state's Workforce Development Center.

USAJOBS
The official job site of the US federal government, USAJOBS lists available federal jobs and provides employment information. You may search the job postings by keywords such as  job title, agency, required skills, and government job control number and by geographic location.    

CareerCast
Provides 1000s of job postings from  U.S. and Canadian newspaper, magazine, association, niche and TV station web sites by Adicio Inc. (a developer of web-based classified advertising).  The postings may be searched by industry, function and location.  Individuals may choose to create a CareerCast account to post their resumes to all Adicio client resume databases through the site; consult the CareerCast Website for details and  follow safe Internet practices.  Through the Jobs Rated link access to numerous job ratings calculated by CareerCast.com is provided.

NationJob Network
Recruitment services listing current openings nationwide. Job Search provides keyword, industry, and location search options.  Membership is not required.  Users may set up a PJ Scout account to receive e-mail notices of jobs fitting their individual profile and to post resumes on the Web; you may choose to do so at your own discretion.  Consult their Privacy statement; follow safe Internet practices. 

Monster.com
Provides  postings of available jobs.  To obtain information about available jobs use the search form to search by job title, keywords or company name, and by geographic location. Membership is not required to browse the job listings, but one can set up a My Monster account to post resumes and further customize searching. Links are provided to job-related advertisers; consult these at your own discretion and follow safe Internet practices.

Job-Hunt
Job-Hunt: For Smarter Job Search provides guides to starting a job search, finding jobs online and through social media, job interview techniques, coping with job loss, and similar advice for conducting a job search.  The Jobs tab leads to job postings for a broad range of job types (including internships) from 1000s of employers.   

Careers-in-Business.com
Designed to help job-seekers "find satisfying jobs in the business world," Careers-in-Business.com has been providing free information since 1997. Focusing on business careers, this site offers the ability to search for available jobs by keyword (e.g., financial analyst) and location (e.g. Minneapolis).  Explore Careers section leads to information about occupations within business. 

Vitae (a service of The Chronicle of Higher Education)
Search the current week's job listings and read a variety of articles about employment in the world of higher education.

Academic360.com
"A meta-collection of Internet resources that have been gathered for the academic job hunter. It includes links to faculty, staff, and administrative announcements and is not restricted to teaching positions."

Educause Career Center
This nonprofit organization primarily serves the interests of higher education and the corporations serving the higher education information technology market. The job postings are primarily technology related and located in higher education or the high technology industry.

Subject Guide