Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Career Collection: Resume Writing and Job Search Techniques

Resumes, Cover Letters, and Job Interviews

The Career Collection contains most of the Library’s recent books on resume and cover letter writing and on job interview preparation. To identify resume writing books, access  Books/Media.  Enter resumes employment.  Once you have retrieved results you may then limit your results to Career Collection resources by clicking on Location in the left-hand column of your results screen and choosing UNI Career Collection and/or UNI Career Collection Reference.  For cover letter writing or employment interviewing books, follow this same procedure with the phrase cover letter* or employment interview*.

So that all students have access to resume, cover letter, and job interview preparation books, several have been placed in the Career Reference section of the Career Collection or are available in electronic form. Examples:

Gallery of Best Resumes (5th edition)
Rod Library UNI Career Reference HF5383 N62 2012 

101 Great Resumes (3rd edition, 2009)
accessible online through ebrary

Knock 'em Dead Resumes: A Killer Resume Gets More Job Interviews!
Rod Library UNI Career Collection  HF 5383 Y38 2016 
Rod Library UNI Career Collection Reference HF 5383 Y38 2014 

The Quick Resume & Cover Letter Book
Rod Library UNI Career Reference HF 5383 F32 2011

Knock 'em Dead Cover Letters: Cover Letters and Strategies to Get the Job you Want
Rod Library UNI Career Collection  HF 5383 Y378 2016 
Rod Library UNI Career Reference  HF 5383 Y378 2014 

Ultimate Cover Letters : A Guide to Job Search Letters, Online Applications and Follow-up Strategies 
Rod Library UNI Career Reference HF 5383  Y384 2012 

Gallery of Best Cover Letters 
Rod Library UNI Career HF5383 .N618 2012  (4th edition)
Rod Library UNI Career Reference HF 5383 N618 2007 (3rd edition)

Cover Letter Magic (4th edition, 2010)
accessible online through EBSCOhost eBook Collection
Rod Library UNI Career HF 5383 E4787 2010
UNI Career Reference HF 5383 E4787 2007

CVs, Resumes, and LinkedIn: A Guide to Professional English
Rod Library UNI Career Reference HF 5383 W323 2014

The Best Keywords for Resumes, Letters, and Interviews
Rod Library UNI Career Reference HF 5383 E4785 2016

Rip the Resume: Job Search & Interview Power Prep
Rod Library UNI Career Reference HF 5383 E443 2016

Knock 'em Dead: Job Interview
Rod Library UNI Career Reference HF 5549.5 I6Y373 2013

Best Answers to the 201 Most Frequently Asked Interview Questions
Rod Library UNI Career Collection HF 5549.5 I6D45 2010

 

 

Resume and Cover Letter Tips & Tutorials

The Riley Guide
Created by Margaret F. Dikel, this is the original Internet job search and career planning site. With new material and features each week, this site contains a variety of job-related information. Find tips on resume and cover letter writing, interviewing, executing your job search, and much more. This site links to a variety of Internet job banks.

Job-Hunt
Job-Hunt: For Smarter Job Search provides guides to starting a job search, finding jobs online and through social media, job interview techniques, coping with job loss, and similar advice for conducting a job search.  The Jobs tab leads to job postings  for a broad range of job types (including internships) from 1000s of employers.  

CollegeGrad.com
This site walks soon-to-be or recent college graduates through the job search process though the Job Search Advice tab. The Careers tab leads to career, salary, and education information for 30 careers and on 100s of additional careers organized by career categories.  The Resumes and Interviewing tabs lead to resume writing and interviewing skill tips, respectively.  In addition, one may search job postings by occupation or location or browse the postings by level, title, industry, location, employer.  

Quintessential Careers
Provides more than 5,000 pages of college planning advice, career descriptions, and listings of available jobs, with links to informative career planning and job search tutorials and assessment tools.  Included are resume-writing and cover letter tutorials.  

Trajectory : 7 Career Strategies to Take You From Where You are to Where you Want to Be (by Van Rooy, 2014)
Accessible through OneSearch! to online ebrary edition

The Bigs : The Secrets Nobody Tells Students and Young Professionals about How To: Choose a Career, Find a Great Job, Do a Great Job, Be a Leader, Start a Business, Manage Your Money, Stay Out of Trouble, Live a Happy Life (by Carpenter, 2014)
Accessible through OneSearch!  to online ebrary edition

Job Choices 
Accessible through UNISTAR to online edition 
Job Choices: Diversity Edition
Accessible through UNISTAR to online edition

Created by the National Association of Colleges and Employers (NACE), this site provides free information about resume writing and interviewing as well as information about employers who submit their profiles to the NACE.  

Monster.com
Provides  job-search information and postings of available jobs.  The Career Resources and Resumes sections lead to career advice, interviewing suggestions, and  resume writing tools and tips.  To obtain information about available jobs use the search form to search by job title, keywords or company name, and by geographic location. Membership is not required to browse the job listings, but one can set up a My Monster account to post resumes and further customize searching. Links are provided to job-related advertisers and to  optional Monster.com fee-based services; consult these at your own discretion and follow safe Internet practices.

Subject Guide