Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Child Abuse & Neglect: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Clark, R. E., & Clark, J. F. (Eds.). (2007). The Encyclopedia of Child Abuse (3rd ed.).  New York: Facts on File.
Rod Library UNI Reference HV 6626.5 C57 2007
Over 400 entries present information and statistics about physical, sexual, emotional, verbal and psychological child abuse and neglect.  The characteristics and causes of child abuse, impacts on children of abuse, impacts on adult survivors of abuse, patterns among abuse perpetrators, and legal and social issues surrounding child abuse are among the topics discussed.  

Epstein, I.  (Ed.). (2008).  The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Children's Issues Worldwide.  Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 767.84 G74 2008  6 volumes
International scholars examine the lives of children in over 120 countries.  Child abuse and neglect is one of the issues discussed in the country essays; other topics include health, legal status, family life, child labor, and educational provision.  The editors chose the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child to guide them in the topics covered.  Each country essay follows a standard format, enabling comparison among countries. 

Skaine, R. (Ed.) (2015). Abuse: An Encyclopedia of Causes, Consequences, and Treatments.  Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood.
Available electronically through Books/Media link to ProQuest Ebook Central
Entries explore physical, sexual, emotional, and verbal abuse among a variety of age groups, including children and teens.  Examines the causes and symptoms of abuse, lasting impacts, prevention, and treatment.  Organized alphabetically by specific topic (e.g., child pornography).  The index assists you in locating the various entries relevant to types of abuse (e.g., child abuse).

Postmus, J. L. (Ed.) (2012). Sexual Violence and Abuse: An Encyclopedia of Prevention, Impacts, and Recovery.  Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
Available electronically through Books/Media link to ProQuest Ebook Central 
A 892-page encyclopedia with 264 signed entries in alphabetical order exploring sexual violence and abuse across the life span, from their definitions to their causes, impacts, and responses.  

FIgley, C. R. (Ed.). (2012). Encyclopedia of Trauma: An Interdisciplinary Guide.  Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE.
Electronic version available through SAGE 
This traumatology encyclopedia examines trauma and its aftermath through physical, psychological, and sociological perspectives.  Evidence-based theories are also explored.  

Doctor, R. M., & Shiromoto, F. N. (2010). The Encyclopedia of Trauma and Traumatic Stress Disorders. New York, NY: Facts on File.
Electronic version available through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 300 entries discuss psychological, social, physical, environmental, and other causes of trauma.  Trauma and traumatic stress disorders are examined from psychological, biological, medical, social, spiritual, and other perspectives.  Sample topics include acute stress disorder, childhood trauma, symptoms of child traumatization, fight-or-fligt response, coping mechanisms, posttraumatic stress disorder, and therapeutic interventions. 

Kapp, K., & Wilson, J. (Eds.).  (2006).  Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence
Detroit: Thomson Gale.
Electronic version available through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 600 signed articles about the full spectrum of pediatric wellness issues, including diseases; disorders; and physical, cognitive, and behavioral development.  Articles relevant to child abuse and neglect include battered child syndrome, child abuse, nasal trauma,  rape and sexual assault, running away, and shaken baby syndrome.  

Garner, B. A. (Ed.). (2009).  Black's Law Dictionary  (9th ed.). St. Paul, MN: Thomson/West.
Rod Library UNI Reference KF 156 B53 2009 
Authoritative definitions of legal terms and phrases.

Webster's New World Law Dictionary.  Wiley. 2006
Available online through EBSCOhost eBook Collection  

Subject Guide