Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Family Services: Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Handbook of Marriage and the Family (3rd ed.)
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 519 H36 2013
This 900-page handbook provides encyclopedic essays about current theory, research, and practice in family science and family services, as well as historical perspectives on the field and on the family.  The essays describe and synthesize social science knowledge about family life including family relationships, family structural variations, and the role of families in society.  

Marriage Customs of the World: An Encyclopedia of Dating Customs and Wedding Traditions (2013, 2nd ed.) 
Available electronically through Books/Media link to  ebrary
More than 340 encyclopedia articles about courtship and marriage around the world.  Topics include age at marriage, Amish marriage, "broom, marriage over the," chastity, courtly love, divorce, and veil.  Cultures or countries explored include China, Egypt, Haiti, Middle East, Native American, Russia, and the United Kingdom.  

Handbook of Marriage and the Family (3rd ed.)
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 519 H36 2013
This 900-page handbook provides encyclopedic essays about current theory, research, and practice in family science and family services, as well as historical perspectives on the field and on the family.  The essays describe and synthesize social science knowledge about family life including family relationships, family structural variations, and the role of families in society.  It is recommended you use the comprehensive index at the back of the book to identify where information on your topics of interest can be found.  

The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 21 I68 2004
Available electronically at The Kinsey Institute https://kinseyinstitute.org/collections/archival/ccies.php
Contains articles about human sexual attitudes and behaviors in 60 countries written by more than 270 authorities from six continents. The information about each country is organized according to a standard outline and includes aspects such as religious, ethnic, and gender factors affecting sexuality; sex education; autoerotic, homosexual, bisexual, and heterosexual attitudes and behaviors; and contraception, abortion, and population planning.

Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence
Rod Library UNI Reference HV 6626 E534 2007
An 800-page scholarly examination of violence in the home including characteristics of and treatment strategies used with a variety of survivors (e.g., children, wives, and husbands) and perpetrators (e.g., siblings, spouses, and elder caregivers).  Domestic violence in several countries is explored; for examinations of domestic violence in additional countries consult Family Violence from a Global Perspective (UNI Stacks HV 6626 F36 2014) and Domestic Violence: A Global View (UNI Stacks HV 6626 D64 2002).

Subject Guide