Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Family Violence: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Finley, L. L. (Ed.). (2013).  Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence and Abuse.  Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
Available electronically through Books/Media link to ProQuest Ebook Central
This 992-page, two-volume work examines domestic abuse in the United States and the world, exploring domestic violence research, sociological and psychological theories, cultural and legal backdrops, and primary documents. 

Postmus, J. L. (Ed.) (2012). Sexual Violence and Abuse: An Encyclopedia of Prevention, Impacts, and Recovery.  Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
Available electronically through Books/Media link to ProQuest Ebook Central 
A 892-page encyclopedia with 264 signed entries in alphabetical order exploring a full range of topics on sexual violence and abuse across the life span, from their definitions to their causes, impacts, and responses.  

Jackson, N. A. (Ed.). (2007).  Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence.  New York: Routledge.
Rod Library UNI Reference HV 6626 E534 2007
Available electronically through Books/Media link to ProQuest Ebook Central
Encyclopedic articles written by international scholars on domestic violence, including child abuse, wife abuse, elder abuse, dating violence, battered males, same-sex domestic violence, and other forms of violence centered in the family or home.  Research about the causes, perpetrators, and victims of domestic violence is presented from legal, psychological, sociological, cross-cultural, and religious perspectives.   

FIgley, C. R. (Ed.). (2012). Encyclopedia of Trauma: An Interdisciplinary Guide.  Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE.
Available electronically through Books/Media link to SAGE 
This traumatology encyclopedia examines trauma and its aftermath through physical, psychological, and sociological perspectives.  Evidence-based theories are also explored.  

Doctor, R. M., & Shiromoto, F. N. (2010). The Encyclopedia of Trauma and Traumatic Stress Disorders. New York, NY: Facts on File.
Available electronically through Books/Media link to Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 300 entries discuss psychological, social, physical, environmental, and other causes of trauma.  Trauma and traumatic stress disorders are examined from psychological, biological, medical, social, spiritual, and other perspectives.  Sample topics include acute stress disorder, battered woman syndrome, child custody, coping mechanisms, divorce, emotional numbing, fight-or-flight response, posttraumatic stress disorder, and therapeutic interventions.  

Skaine, R. (Ed.) (2015). Abuse: An Encyclopedia of Causes, Consequences, and Treatments.  Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood.
Available electronically through Books/Media link to ProQuest Ebook Central
Entries explore physical, sexual, emotional, and verbal abuse among a variety of age groups and relationships, including those dating, married, or divorced and those witnessing domestic violence.  Examines the causes and symptoms of abuse, lasting impacts, prevention, and treatment.  Organized alphabetically by specific topic. The index assists you in locating the various entries relevant to types of abuse (e.g., domestic abuse).

Matthews, D. D. (Ed.). (2009).  Domestic Violence Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information about Warning Signs, Risk Factors, and Health Consequences of Intimate Partner Violence, Sexual Violence and Rape...(3rd ed.). Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics.
Rod Library UNI Reference HV 6626.2 D685 2009
Provides information about the physical and mental effects of violence experienced by intimate partners, the elderly, young adults, teens, and children. Information about types of violence (sexual assault, battering, etc.) is provided, along with information for prevention, identification, and intervention in domestic violence situations. 

Renzetti, C. M., Edleson, J. L., & Bergen, R. K. (Eds.).  (2010, 2nd ed.).  Sourcebook on Violence Against Women.  Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
Available electronically through Books/Media link to  EBSCO EBook Academic Collection
Earlier edition at Rod Library UNI Reference HV 6250.4 W65S68 2001
Encyclopedic articles on violence against women including examinations of types of violence, discussions of research and practice related to  prevention and direct intervention strategies, and explorations of continuing and emerging issues.    Articles are written by policy-makers, advocates, and researchers.  Also included are discussions of the theoretical and methodological issues associated with researching violence against women and an informative essay on the Violence Against Women Act of 1994.  

Marriage Customs of the World: An Encyclopedia of Dating Customs and Wedding Traditions (2013, 2nd ed.) 
Available electronically through Books/Media link to  ProQuest Ebook Central
More than 340 encyclopedia articles about courtship and marriage around the world.  Topics of interest to those studying violence include "abduction by marriage," honor killing, incest, kidnapping, and rape.  

Garner, B. A. (Ed.). (2009).  Black's Law Dictionary  (9th ed.). St. Paul, MN: Thomson/West.
Rod Library UNI Reference KF 156 B53 2009 
Authoritative definitions of legal terms and phrases.

Subject Guide