Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Psychological Assessment: Experimental Tests - Handbooks

Handbooks for Experimental Tests

These handbooks describe and provide full reprints of experimental tests or excerpted sample items from experimental tests:

Fischer, J., & Corcoran, K.   Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: A Sourcebook. New York: The Free Press.
Rod Library UNI Reference BF 176 C66 1987, 1994 (2nd ed.), 2000 (3rd ed.), 2007 (4th ed.), and 2013 (5th ed.)
These two-volume sets provide human services practitioners and students with a number of tests they can use to help monitor and evaluate their practice (e.g., client problems and progress). Volume 1 contains copies of tests for use with couples, families, and children. Volume 2 contains tests to be used with adults when the problem of concern is not focused on the family or couple relationship. For help in finding a test that is specially designed for a particular problem area, consult the third part of the Table of Contents in which tests are cross-indexed by problem area.

Handbook of Psychiatric Measures. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association.
Rod Library UNI Reference RC 473 P78A46 2000 and (2nd ed.) 2008
Provides psychiatrists with information about the goals, administration, psychometric properties, and clinical utility of 275 measurement tools used in clinical practice. The handbook is not intended to be a complete listing of all relevant, available measures nor an endorsement of any measure.  The handbook is organized into three sections: psychological assessment theory and practice, measures that are not disorder-specific, and disorder-specific measures.  Also consult the general index at the end of the volume for assistance in identifying tests of interest.

Accompanying the Handbook of Psychiatric Measures is a CD-ROM that includes complete copies of 108 tests that are in the public domain or for which permission to reprint in this handbook was granted from the copyright holders. The CD-ROM is available for check out at Rod Library Stacks RC 473 P78A46 2000 CD-ROM. 

Rod Library owns additional handbooks which provide full test reprints or excerpts from experimental tests. Some examples:

Practitioner's Guide to Empirically Based Measures of Depression
Available online through Books/Media

Practitioner's Guide to Empirically Based Measures of Anxiety
Available online through Books/Media
Rod Library UNI Stacks RC 531 P73 2001  

Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health
Available online through Books/Media

Professional Handbook for Mood and Anxiety Disorders
Rod Library UNI Stacks RC 537 S64 2009

Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures
2011 (3rd ed.) available online through Books/Media
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 60 H36 1998

For assistance in finding tests in handbooks or other books, consult the Experimental Tests -- Handbooks -- Directory section of this guide.

Subject Guide