Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Sexuality & Sexual Behavior: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Sexuality

Francoeur, R.T., & Noonan, R.J. (Eds.). (2004).  The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality.  New York: Continuum. 
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 21 I68 2004
Also available online at https://kinseyinstitute.org/collections/archival/ccies.php
Human sexual attitudes, behaviors, and values are examined within 62 countries and places.  Each chapter, written by a cultural expert, explores sexuality in a country.  The information includes demographics; gender roles; religious, ethnic, and gender factors; knowledge and education about sexuality; gender diversity and transgender issues; contraception, abortion, and population planning; and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) and HIV/AIDS.  

Malti-Douglas, F. (Ed.). (2007).  Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender.  Detroit: Macmillan Reference. 
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 16 E52 2007 4 volumes
Available online through the Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia essays on issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social levels, including matters of identity, the body, status, class, ethnicity, and race.  Sexuality in various countries and historical periods is examined.  Although the humanities and social sciences are emphasized, biological aspects are discussed. 

Stein, M. (Ed.). (2004).  LGBT: Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America.  Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons.
Available online through EBSCOhost eBook Collection 
Available online through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gender diverse histories and cultures in the United States are surveyed in 545 scholarly encyclopedia articles, ranging from short biographical entries to 9-page essays.   Experts discuss the various perspectives used to view sexualities and genders (for example, activist, historical, medical, and psychological) and the ways these perspectives influence understanding.  

glbtq: an encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, & queer studies
http://www.glbtqarchive.com/ (formerly: www.glbtq.com/)
Over 2,000 signed and referenced entries about gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer life and studies organized into four categories: Arts, Literature, Social Sciences and History, and Essays and Interviews. A highlight is the exploration of the history of sexualities in over 99 cities, regions, or countries.  Edited by Professor Emeritus Claude J. Summers with review of each encyclopedia entry by Professor Emeritus Ted-Larry Pebworth, both of the University of Michigan-Dearborn.  No new entries have been added since August 1, 2015.  

Sexuality & Philosophy

Soble, A. (Ed.). (2006).  Sex from Plato to Paglia: A Philosophical Encyclopedia.  Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 12 S423 2006  2 volumes
Over 150 signed essays by experts exploring the philosophy of human sexuality, from diverse philosophical perspectives including analytic, classical, continental, religious, secular, liberal, conservative, and feminist.  About 50 of the essays discuss people who have said something philosophically noteworthy about sex (e.g., Foucault), 60 cover topics or concepts (e.g., abstinence), and about 40 cover history/schools of thought (e.g., existentialism). 

Sexuality & Medicine

Meyer, R. C., Reisman, M., James, K. (2010).  The Reproductive System.  New York, NY: Ambrose Video Publishing.
Available online through OneSearch!
In this video surgeon Dr. Mark Reisman guides the viewer through the human reproductive system, using medical imaging, 3-D graphics and cadaver footage.

Minkin, M. J. & Wright, C. V. (2003).  The Yale Guide to Women's Reproductive Health: From Menarche to Menopause.  New Haven, CT: Yale University Press.
Rod Library UNI Reference RG 121 M667 2003
available online through ebrary

Perry, A. (2001).  American Medical Association Complete Guide to Men's Health.  New York: Wiley.
Rod Library UNI Reference RA 777.8 A46 2001
available online through ebrary
Information about the reproductive system is on pages 137-200, in chapters on sexuality, disorders of the reproductive system, STDs, and birth control.

Sexuality & Psychiatry

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-V.  (2013). (5th ed.) Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association.
Rod Library UNI Library Services Desk RC 455.2 C4D536 2013
Published by the American Psychiatric Association, the DSM-V is the standard manual for classifying mental disorders in adults and children.  Conditions classified by the American Psychiatric Association as sexual dysfunctions, gender dysphoria, and paraphilic disorders are among those examined.   

DSM-V Made Easy: The Clinician's Guide to Diagnosis
Online through ebrary 
This book by diagnostician James R. Morrison presents the spectrum of diagnoses in DSM-5 in an accessible, clinically useful format.  Includes 130 case vignettes to illustrate typical patient presentations.

Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures
2011 (3rd ed.) available online through OneSearch!
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 60 H36 1998
Descriptions and, in many cases, complete reproductions of questionnaires, scales, inventories, and other assessment instruments developed to measure sexuality-related states, traits, attitudes, and behaviors.

Subject Guide