Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Social Work: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The Encyclopedia of Social Work (20th ed.)
Rod Library UNI Reference HV 35 S6 2008 (most recent 2 editions in Rod Library UNI Reference; Earlier in UNI Stacks) 
also available online through Oxford Reference
Each edition offers scholarly essays written by top social work practitioners or professors analyzing over 500 topics in social work practice, interventions, and social conditions. Also includes 100s of biographical entries. This title continues the Social Work Year Book (UNI Stacks HV 35S6) which was published in 14 editions between 1929 and 1960. Consulting the earlier volumes is a convenient way of exploring the evolution of social work.

The Social Work Dictionary (5th ed.)
Rod Library UNI Reference HV 12 B37 2003; Earlier editions in UNI Stacks
Definitions of nearly 8,000 terms, concepts, organizations, and events Also includes brief biographical entries.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (2nd ed.)
Rod Library UNI Reference H 40 A2I5 2008
also available electronically through Books/Media to Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 2,900 encyclopedic essays contributed by scholars from around the world about current and historical developments in the social sciences, about social movements, and about social issues.  Among essays of potential interest are those on social work, social welfare system, family structure,  and the war on poverty.  

Dictionary of Social Work (2010)
available electronically through Books/Media link to ebrary
With over 1,500 entries, this dictionary defines theories, approaches, and terminology in social work and social care.  The authors are from the United Kingdom and reflect a British perspective; legal and governmental references are primarily to United Kingdom law and agencies (for example, the Americans with Disabilities Act is not included; relevant United Kingdom laws are).

FIgley, C. R. (Ed.). (2012). Encyclopeida of Trauma: An Interdisciplinary Guide.  Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE.
Electronic version available through SAGE 
This traumatology encyclopedia examines trauma and its aftermath through physical, psychological, and sociological perspectives.  Evidence-based theories are also explored.  

 

Subject Guide