Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Women's Studies: Biographies

Biographical Sources

Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 1115 W6 1999  (17 volumes)
Over 10,000 articles profile women of achievement or fame from every walk of life throughout the world.  Biographies of historical women as well as women living at the time of publication. The articles are alphabetically arranged by surname, include an illustration of the individual when possible, and end with lists of sources cited in the article and suggested readings. Volume 17 includes several indexes to assist users in finding relevant information in the set, namely, era (historical period), geographic, occupation/experience, and personal name. 

Biography in Context 
Databases A-Z
Full-text, online biographical articles, many with photos, from authoritative reference sources, magazines, and newspapers. More than 440,000 individuals of achievement in literature, science, business, politics, education, the arts, entertainment, and diverse fields of endeavor from historical times to the present throughout the world are included. To identify individuals profiled by occupation, nationality, ethnicity, and in other ways, click on Advanced Search, then choose Person Search.

Larousse Dictionary of Women
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 1115 L37 1996
Concise biographies of 3,000 famous and marginalized women of achievement. Achievement may be in any area of activity, but emphasis is on leading figures in the women’s rights movement. Coverage includes women from throughout the world but is weighted toward 19th and 20th century women in the western world.

The Grolier Library of Women's Biographies
Rod Library UNI Reference CT 3207 G76 1998
This ten-volume encyclopedia profiles 1,850 women of accomplishment (living and deceased) in the arts, education, law, literature, politics, medicine, science, social science, and sports. Whenever possible a photograph or illustration appears of each woman. Alphabetically arranged with an index of names, professions, and country at the end of volume 10.

Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 1236 R29 2001
A two-volume encyclopedia profiling over 400 women from around the world active in social reform and change. To identify the social reformers by country and by cause (e.g., immigrant rights), consult the country list beginning on page xxxiii and the cause list beginning on page xxix at the start of volume one.

Marquis Who’s Who on the Web
Databases A-Z 
Profiles over 1.4 million accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports.  This full-text database may be searched using 15 criteria such as name, gender, occupation, education and degrees, geography, religion, and hobbies and interests.

Significant Contemporary American Feminists: A Biographical Sourcebook 
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 1412 S56 1999
Provides biographical, analytical portraits of fifty U.S. feminists.  Each essay ends with a list of writings by and about the feminist

Librarian