Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Women's Studies: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Women's Studies Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 16 E52 2007
Also available online  in Gale Virtual Reference Library
A four-volume set exploring concepts of sex and gender that have arisen from scholarly study worldwide. Essays by noted scholars examine the intersections of sex and gender with identity, status, ethnicity, race, culture, nation, and social institutions; explore sexuality and the body; and analyze the structures of gender representation. 

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society (2009)
Available online in Gale Virtual Reference Library
Essays describe the major theories, research, individuals, groups, and issues in contemporary gender studies.  Sample topics include ageism; American Woman Suffrage Association; cross-dressing; Equal Rights Amendment; heterosexual privilege; masculinity studies; microlending, poverty, feminization of; and Truth, Sojourner.  

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women’s Issues Worldwide 
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 1154 G68 2003 
A six-volume set presenting descriptive and statistical information about women’s issues in more than 130 countries. Each 20-30 page article  describes the conditions in a particular country, and follows a standard format to enable cross-country comparisons: overview of women’s issues, education, employment & economics, family & sexuality, health, politics & law, religion & spirituality, violence, and outlook for the 21st century.

Feminist Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism 
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 1115 W644 2006
A multidisciplinary, multicultural encyclopedia introducing the third wave's key issues, members, writings, and more in over 200 essays. Third wave feminism is refined and distinguished from postfeminism in essays focused on cultural, legislative, and electoral activism; racial politics; globalization; emergent technologies; motherhood; and more.  The Primary Documents volume contains reprints of a wide variety of documents from some of the leading third wavers.  Focus primarily on the movement in the United States.

Feminist Philosophies A-Z 
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 1190 M386 2007
A 170-page guide to the major theories, thinkers, terms, and issues in contemporary feminist philosophy. An extensive bibliography leads to key works.

Historical Dictionary of Feminism (2nd ed.) 
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 1115 B65 2004

Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories 
Rod Library UNI Reference HQ 1190 E63 2000

Subject Guide