Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Monsters and Religion: An Awesome Alliance: Religion: Encyclopedias & Journal Articles

Religion Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

The Brill Dictionary of Religion
Rod Library Stacks BL 31 M4813 2007 volumes 1-4
Examines the many forms of religious commitment including the various theologies and doctrinal declarations of the world's official institutionalized religions as well as other religious phenomena.  In over 500 signed essays religious concepts, elements of religious systems, histories of religions, key representatives of religious traditions, and religion from geographical and historical perspectives are explored.  Includes over 34 maps, 260 illustrations, and extensive time lines.  Consult the end of volume 4 for the comprehensive index.

The Encyclopedia of Religion
Online through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Rod Library Stacks BL 31 E46 2005 volumes 1-15
Detailed, authoritative information on the range of topics related to religion and spiritual practice; over 3,300 articles written by an international team of scholars.  Entries include cybernetics, devils, monsters, and theodicy.  Illustrations depict religious practices, sacred spaces, and major events.

Science, Religion, and Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Controversy volumes 1-2
Rod Library Reference BL 240.3 S37 2007 & Stacks BL 240.3 S37 2007
Scholars examine the intersection of religious and scientific views, as well as controversies between religion and science, in over 80 essays on areas such as creation, the cosmos, ecology, consciousness, healers and healing, dying and death, and genetics.  

The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
Rod Library Reference BL 31 O84 1997
Identifies and defines the beings, beliefs, dogmas, practices, customs, texts, and artifacts of the world's religions, past and present.  

Rod Library owns or provides access to encyclopedias of various religions, including:

Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions (2009)
Online through Gale Virtual Reference Library

Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Online through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Rod Library Reference BQ 128 E62 2004 2 volumes

The Cambridge Dictionary of Christianity
Rod Library Reference BR 95 C24 2010

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2016)
Online through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Rod Library Reference BP 40 E525 2004 2 volumes

 

Finding Religion Journal Articles

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials (EBSCO)
Coverage: 1949-current
Indexes and provides access to over 600 currently published religion and theology journals as well as book reviews and collections of essays in all areas of religion.  Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA).

Philosopher's Index (EBSCO)
Coverage: 1902-current
Indexes and abstracts scholarship in philosophy (including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics) and related fields. Sources include journals, books, and book reviews.

Subject Guide