Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Monsters and Religion: An Awesome Alliance: Literature: Encyclopedias & Journal Articles

Literature Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Oxford English Dictionary
Online through Oxford Press
Rod Library Reference PE 1625 O87 1989 20 volumes
The OED (Oxford English Dictionary) traces the origins and uses of English words through more than 2.5 million textual quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.  Providing far more than definitions, the OED enables you to discover when words entered the English language; to browse words by subject, usage, region, or origin; and to explore the top 1,000 authors and works quoted in the OED.  Helps you answer the question, which term is oldest-- cyborg, vampire, or zombie?

Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature
Online through Gale Academic One File
Rod Library Reference PN 41 M42 1995
Definitions and descriptions of authors, works, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary terms, literary movements, literary landmarks, and more from the world's literature, with a focus on English and American literature.   

Similar in purpose to Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, the following two sources are examples of encyclopedias available in Rod Library that focus on a type of literature:
The Oxford Companion to English Literature (6th ed.)
  Rod Library Reference PR 19 O94 2006 & Youth Coll. Ref. YR 810 O
The Oxford Companion to American Literature (6th ed.)
  Rod Library Reference PS 21 H3 1995 

Something About the Author Online
Profiles the lives, careers, writings, and adaptations of authors and illustrators of children's and young adult literature.  More than 19,000 individuals are included.  In over 450 autobiographical essays, authors and illustrators describe their careers, interests, and motivations, among other topics.  Search by keyword, full text, or named author, or use the Browse Author to browse the alphabetical list of authors and illustrators.

Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase & Fable (19th ed.)
Online through Credo
Rod Library Reference PN 43 B65 2005 (17th ed.)
Defines and explains the meaning and origin of words and phrases; literary allusions; and fictitious, mythical, and historical characters and events; includes biographies.   Early editions (including the 1898 edition) are now in the public domain and accessible through books.google.com (1898), Hathi Trust, and other services.

 

Finding Literature Journal Articles & Criticism

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Online through Rod Library Databases A-Z
The definitive index to journal articles, books, and dissertations about modern languages and literatures.  

Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
Online through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides author biographical sketches, criticism of literary works, brief overviews, and extensive excerpts from criticism previously published in journals and books.  The Literature Criticism Online database encompasses ten series, including:  Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Poetry Criticism, and Children's Literature Review.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Reviews of and information about children's and young adult literature. Searchable by author, title, subject, age level, genre, and more.   Enter your search term in the Search window and use the Search Specific Field drop-down to indicate the type of search you would like to do, for example, "Annotation" to search the book descriptions. Provides links to over 240,000 Web pages featuring children's and young adult authors and illustrators.  

Subject Guide