Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Monsters and Religion: An Awesome Alliance: Mythology and the Paranormal

Mythology: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

UXL Encyclopedia of World Mythology (2009)
Online through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gods, heroes, motifs, and myths from a diversity of cultures, including Greek, Judeo-Christian, Islamic, Hindu, Native North and South American, and Roman.  

Encyclopedia Mythica
An Internet encyclopedia of mythology, religion, and folklore.  Identifies and describes over 4,000 deities, heroes, supernatural beings, legendary creatures, and monsters from throughout the world.  The mythology section is organized in six geographical regions: Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, Middle East, and Oceania.  Myths that are Native American, Japanese, Celtic, Greek, Roman, Judaic, or Polynesian are some of those covered.  Includes an image gallery.

Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities
Rod Library Reference BL 473 C67 2000
Mythologies related to deities, including the origin, history, and function of the deity.  

The Paranormal: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

The Zombie Book: The Encyclopedia of the Living Dead 
Rod Library Reference GR 581 R43 2014
More than 250 entries discuss zombie myths throughout history and around the world; includes information about zombie portrayals in television shows, books, and movies.  

The Vampire Book: The Encyclopedia of the Undead (3rd ed.)
Online through ProQuest
Rod Library Reference BF 1556 M46 2011
The "historical, literary, mythological, biographical, and popular aspects of one of the world's most mesmerizing paranormal subjects, vampires."

The Greenhaven Encyclopedia of Paranormal Phenomena
Online through Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Explores paranormal phenomena, whose existence lies beyond normal experience or scientific explanation.  Provides definitions of concepts, biographies of pivotal figures, and descriptions of key events, such as mysterious beasts, UFOs, alien abductions, ESP, and near-death and out-of-body experiences.  Presents the views of both believers and skeptics.

The Encyclopedia of the Paranormal
Rod Library Reference BF 1025 E54 1996
The "first scientifically based encyclopedia to deal with the paranormal, anything that is put forth as an explanation of the natural world using as a part of that explanation elements that appear to violate what has already been offered and accepted as a scientific explanation of the given phenomena" -- from the Introduction, page xxi.

Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology (5th ed.)
Online through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Earlier editions in UNI Stacks BF 1407 E54 3rd and 4th eds.
Subtitled "A compendium of information on the occult sciences, magic, demonology, superstitions, spiritism, mysticism, metaphysics, psychical science, and parapsychology, with biographical and bibliographical notes." Explores terms, concepts, and figures in the areas of human experience that goes beyond the five senses. 

Gale Encyclopedia of the Unusual and Unexplained (2003)
Online through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides information on topics relating to magic, witchcraft, the supernatural, and other mysterious phenomena.  Written by Brad Steiger and Sherry H. Steiger, two writers on the paranormal, this 1,069-page encyclopedia is meant to "explore and describe the research of those who take such phenomena seriously."   

Subject Guide