Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Monsters and Religion: An Awesome Alliance: More Journal Article Databases: OneSearch! and Cross-Disciplinary

Finding Journal Articles in OneSearch! and Cross-Disciplinary Databases

In addition to subject-specific databases (accessible through Databases A-Z or through the Religion, Literature, Journal Articles, or Subject Guides tabs of this LibGuide), there are databases that index articles from journals across many disciplines in the humanities, behavioral sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and medicine. These multi- or cross-disciplinary databases are particularly useful when you are researching topics that may be covered by more than one discipline or you seek an interdisciplinary perspective.

OneSearch! 
Rod Library's OneSearch! is a tool for searching much of Rod Library's resources from a single search box on the Rod Library home page (https://www.library.uni.edu/). Through OneSearch! you can gain access to articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers; to books; to government publications; to DVDs; and to other information resources included in many of the databases to which Rod Library subscribes. You may prefer the Advanced Search mode with its multiple search windows. To refine your search to scholarly articles, once you have retrieved search results you may choose Peer-reviewed Journals. 

Academic OneFile (Gale) 
Citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from religion and theology journals as well as from popular magazines. We recommend you choose the  Zoom In free icon  Advanced option on the top banner to see the variety of search options.  To focus on articles in academic, scholarly journals, it is recommended that you limit your search by check-marking "Peer-Reviewed Journals"   under "More Options."

JSTOR 
Access and search more than 2,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including those that are multi-disciplinary.  At one time JSTOR was called "Journal Storage."

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a Web search engine designed to index the full text or descriptions of scholarly literature across disciplines and formats.  Within Google Scholar you may search by keyword, author, and article title.  There is also an advanced search with more searching options.  If you are off campus there are two ways to access Google Scholar so you learn whether the Rod Library has the information resources you identify in your Google Scholar search:  

  I -- Access Google Scholar by going to  Databases A-Z from the Library's home page and choosing Google Scholar.

II -- Or you may use the following five steps to set your preferences so that Google indicates which of the resources you've identified that Rod Library provides. 
1.  Go to https://scholar.google.com.
2.  Look at the left side of the Google Scholar page for the "hamburger" three horizontal bar icon, click on it, and then click Settings.
3.  Click on Library links.

4.  In the Show library access links text field, enter university of northern iowa then click on the Search button.
5.  Checkmark the boxes in the front of our university name, then click Save in the lower right corner.

Subject Guide