Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

People with Disabilities in Film: Additional Film Lists and Databases

Film Lists

Films: Portrayals of People with Disabilities  IRIS Center (Vanderbilt University and Claremont Graduate University)
http://iris.peabody.vanderbilt.edu/films/
Created at the IRIS Center, this searchable database attempts to catalog the representation of people with disabilities in motion pictures.  Motion pictures are listed in categories including Autism Spectrum Disorders, Deaf/Hard of Hearing, Emotional or Behavioral Disorders, Learning Disabiliites, Physical Impairments, and Speech Disorders.  Click on the dropdown arrow by each category to see the title, distributor, synopsis and year of the each motion picture. A Search window on the left-hand column of the page permits searches by keywords.  Year may also be searched.

Movies with Characters with Disabilities (Joe Timmons, University of Minnesota)
A list of over 70 films portraying individuals who have mental, emotional, physical, or other disabilities.  The film, date, disability, summary, and any prizes awarded are listed for each film. Arranged alphabetically by title.  Created March 2003.

Physical and Mental Disabilities in the Movies (Media Center, Moffit Library, UC Berkeley)
Lists feature films and documentaries in which individuals with disabilities are portrayed.  Films are listed alphabetically by title.  Director, cast (for feature films), and synopsis of each film is given.  Links are provided to the Internet Movie Database for more descriptions of the films.

Disability Movies
Lists films by disability and includes a still image from each film.  Also provides a list of stereotypes and cliches presented in film about individuals with disabilities.  A listing of movies commercially available with audio description is given.  

 

 

www.imdb.com

IMDb (the Internet Movie Database)
Provides detailed information about movies and television shows--their titles, characters, plot summaries, actors and actresses, and quotes.  Over 3 million titles are included.  To identify relevant films, use the Search window and the dropdown "Keywords" option to search by type of disability. 

Subject Guide