Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

People with Disabilities in Film: Biographical Information

Biographies

The following databases are among those providing authoritative biographies.  One may search them by an individual's name or in other ways, such as by personal characteristics. 

Biography in Context (Gale)
Online biographies of over 1 million people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers from throughout the world. Includes individuals from the fields of literature, science, business, politics, entertainment, sports, the social sciences, and more. Searchable by name, occupation, nationality, birth place, and in other ways. Continuously updated.

Biography & Genealogy Master Index (Thomson Gale)
This database finds citations to biographical entries located in biographical reference sources. On the opening search screen, type the name of the person in whom you are interested. You may enter the name in any order (last, first or first last) or you may enter as much of the spelling of the last name as you know. When you find a source citation in this index, search for the title of the source in UNISTAR to see if that source is in Rod Library's collections.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Provides access to biographical information from news stories, as well as to entries in news wires and some blogs.  Type in the name of the person or names of the people of interest.  You may find it helpful to focus your search once you receive search results by using the Narrow By options in the left-hand column such as Publication Type or Sources.

Marquis Who's Who on the Web
Includes profiles on over 1.4 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. This database may be searched using 15 criteria such as name, gender, occupation, education and degrees, geography, religion, and hobbies and interests. Many of the Who's Who titles are included in this database.

Subject Guide