Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Vietnam War: Finding Articles

Specialized Databases

America: History & Life   1964- present
Databases A-Z link
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. 

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)  Coverage generally 1990-present
Databases A-Z link
Indexes articles in news sources, including newspapers, newswires, and broadcast transcripts.  

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Databases A-Z link
Indexes the most popular general-interest magazines published between 1890 and 1982.  Use to identify magazine and journal articles published at the time of the Vietnam War.  When you identify an article of interest, click on the Find it! @ UNI button to learn if Rod Library owns or provides access to the journal.

New York Times (1851-2010): Proquest Historical Newspapers
Databases A-Z link
Coverage of politics, society, and events of the time.  Use to identify newspaper stories published at the time of the Vietnam War.

Cross-Disciplinary Databases

Cross-disciplinary databases index articles from journals across many disciplines in the humanities, behavioral sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and medicine.  When you seek an interdisciplinary perspective or when you are researching topics that may be covered by more than one discipline multi-disciplinary databases can be particularly useful.

OneSearch! 
Rod Library's OneSearch! is a tool for searching much of Rod Library's resources from a single search box on the Rod Library home page (https://www.library.uni.edu/). Through OneSearch! you can gain access to articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers; to books; to government publications; to DVDs; and to other information resources included in most of the databases to which Rod Library subscribes. Use the Advanced Search tab to access multiple search windows in which you may enter your terms. To focus on scholarly articles, you may "Limit To" "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals".

Academic Search Elite
Databases A-Z link
Citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from history and humanities journals as well as from popular magazines.  Use the Limit To options in the left-hand column to focus your results on articles published during a particular time period (e.g., 1961-1975), or to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, or to Magazines, or in other ways.  

JSTOR 
Databases A-Z link
Access to and searching of more than 2,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including those that are multi-disciplinary.

Google Scholar scholar.google.com
Google Scholar is a section of Google that indexes scholarly, academic articles.  Libraries and index producers participate.  See the Search Tips: Google Scholar Settings box to learn how to set your computer to link to the holdings of your library.

Subject Guide