Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Battle Analysis: Finding Articles

Specialized Databases

Historical Abstracts 1955 - present
Available through Databases A-Z link
Historical Abstracts indexes the literature about the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955, and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.  

America: History & Life   1964- present
Available through Databases A-Z link
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. 

AULMP: Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center)
Access the Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center, click on the radio button for AULMP, and enter your search terms.
Indexes over 80 periodicals and focuses on military, geopolitical, and aeronautical topics, and includes over a dozen English language journals published outside the United States. Articles, interviews, book reviews, and speeches from high-ranking Department of Defense and Air Force officials are included in the AULIMP. 

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) Coverage generally 1990-present
Available through Databases A-Z link
Indexes articles in news sources, including newspapers, newswires, and broadcast transcripts.  Additional sources cover business, legal, medical, and reference information. 

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
Available through Databases A-Z link.
Indexes general interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, including magazines such as Time, Newsweek, and US News & World Report.  

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Available through Databases A-Z link
Indexes the most popular general-interest magazines published between 1890 and 1982.  Use to identify magazine and journal articles published at the time of the battle or war.  When you identify an article of interest, click on the Find it! @ UNI button to learn if Rod Library provides access online or whether Rod Library owns it in paper copy in UNI Compact Shelving.

New York Times (1851-2010): Proquest Historical Newspapers
Available through Databases A-Z link
Coverage of politics, society, and events of the time.  Use to identify newspaper stories published at the time of the Vietnam War.

Cross-Disciplinary Databases

In addition to the specialized databases listed in this LibGuide there are databases that index articles from journals across many disciplines in the humanities, behavioral sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and medicine.  These multi-disciplinary databases are particularly useful when you seek an interdisciplinary perspective or when you are researching topics that may be covered by more than one discipline.

OneSearch!  Everything   – books, magazine articles, scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, videos, and more. 

Rod Library's OneSearch! is a tool for searching much of Rod Library's resources from a single search box on the Rod Library home page (https://www.library.uni.edu/). Through OneSearch! you can gain access to articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers; to books; to government publications; to DVDs; and to other information resources included in most of the databases to which Rod Library subscribes. Use the Advanced Search option to access multiple search windows in which you may enter your terms. To focus on scholarly articles, on the left-hand column of the results screen, under the Show only heading, click on Peer-reviewed Journal.  

Academic Search Elite
Available through Databases A-Z link
Citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from history and humanities journals as well as from popular magazines.  Use the Limit To options in the left-hand column to focus your results on articles published during a particular time period (e.g., 1961-1975), or to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, or to Magazines, or in other ways.  

JSTOR 
Available through Databases A-Z link
Access to and searching of more than 2,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including those that are multi-disciplinary. At one time JSTOR was called "Journal Storage."

Google Scholar scholar.google.com
Google Scholar is a section of Google that indexes scholarly, academic articles.  Libraries and index producers participate.  See the Search Tips: Google Scholar Settings box to learn how to set your computer to link to the holdings of your library.

Subject Guide