Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Battle Analysis: Memoirs, Biography, or Personal Narratives

Books/Media

Search Books/Media to find book-length memoirs or autobiographies written by those involved with a particular battle, operation, or war.  

Known Individual

If you know the name of the individual you would like to research, use his/her name, for example,

Cullen, Paul A., 1909-
MacArthur, Douglas, 1880-1964

Note: You do not need to enter the people's birth and death dates, but this information can be helpful to distinguish among individuals with the same name.  

Name Unknown Prior to Search

You may search for biographical or autobiographical  information even if you do not know names of individuals.  The following examples illustrate the search patterns to use:
   World War, 1939 -1945 -- Biography
   
World War, 1939 -1945 -- Personal narratives

When searching by keyword, you can replace the subject heading punctuation with AND.  We do recommend you retain the hyphen between date ranges.  For example, 

   World War, 1939 -1945 -- Biography  may be searched as
   "world war" AND 1939 -1945 AND biography

Note: Memoir or autobiography are not used as official subheadings.  You may also search with the terms autobiography or memoir, just be sure to include biography or personal narratives in your search.  For example, 

"world war" AND 1939-1945 AND (autobiograph* OR biograph* OR memoir* OR personal narrative*)

Explore adding the theatre of operation, for example,

  "world war" AND 1939 -1945 AND biography AND "pacific ocean"

Searching by occupation or military role can lead to biographies as well, for example,
    United States. Army -- Radiomen -- Biography
    World War, 1939 -1945 -- Scouts and scouting   
    Australia. Royal Australian Air Force -- Radarmen -- Biography

Additional "format" subheadings might find useful in your research are Diaries or Correspondence.  

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American War Heroes
   Reference Collection E 181 N88 2002

Encyclopedia of Cold War Espionage, Spies, and Secret Operations
   Available online through ebrary

Biographical Articles

Article databases listed under the Finding Articles section of this LibGuide may also lead to autobiographic and biographical information.

In addition, to access online databases specializing in biographical information, go to the Rod Library home page and and click on the Databases A-Z  listing and choose one or more of the databases described below.  

Biography in Context (Gale)
Online biographies of over 1 million people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers from throughout the world. Includes individuals from the fields of literature, science, business, politics, the military, entertainment, sports, the social sciences, and more. Searchable by name, occupation, nationality, birth place, and in other ways. Continuously updated.

Biography & Genealogy Master Index (Thomson Gale)
Helps you find citations to biographical entries located in biographical reference sources.  When you find a source citation in this index, search for the title of the "sources cited"  in Books/Media to see if that source is in Rod Library's collections.

For information about other sources indexing biographical information see Find Articles About People in the Biographical Information LibGuide.