Evans, K. M. (2013). Child Abuse and Domestic Violence. Detroit, MI: Gale.
Electronic version available through Gale Virtual Reference Library
In nine chapters information about the characteristics, prevalence, causes, prevention, and consequences of child abuse, neglect, domestic violence, and family violence is presented. Legal and law enforcement aspects are also explored.
Skaine, R. (Ed.) (2015). Abuse: An Encyclopedia of Causes, Consequences, and Treatments. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood.
Available electronically through Books/Media link to ProQuest Ebook Central
Entries explore physical, sexual, emotional, and verbal abuse among a variety of age groups, including children and teens. Examines the causes and symptoms of abuse, lasting impacts, prevention, and treatment. Organized alphabetically by specific topic (e.g., child pornography). The index assists you in locating the various entries relevant to types of abuse (e.g., child abuse).
Postmus, J. L. (Ed.) (2012). Sexual Violence and Abuse: An Encyclopedia of Prevention, Impacts, and Recovery. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
Available electronically through Books/Media link to ProQuest Ebook Central
A 892-page encyclopedia with 264 signed entries in alphabetical order exploring sexual violence and abuse across the life span, from their definitions to their causes, impacts, and responses.
FIgley, C. R. (Ed.). (2012). Encyclopedia of Trauma: An Interdisciplinary Guide. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE.
Electronic version available through SAGE
This traumatology encyclopedia examines trauma and its aftermath through physical, psychological, and sociological perspectives. Evidence-based theories are also explored.
Doctor, R. M., & Shiromoto, F. N. (2010). The Encyclopedia of Trauma and Traumatic Stress Disorders. New York, NY: Facts on File.
Electronic version available through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 300 entries discuss psychological, social, physical, environmental, and other causes of trauma. Trauma and traumatic stress disorders are examined from psychological, biological, medical, social, spiritual, and other perspectives. Sample topics include acute stress disorder, childhood trauma, symptoms of child traumatization, fight-or-fligt response, coping mechanisms, posttraumatic stress disorder, and therapeutic interventions.
Garner, B. A. (Ed.). (2009). Black's Law Dictionary (9th ed.). St. Paul, MN: Thomson/West.
Rod Library UNI Reference KF 156 B53 2009
Authoritative definitions of legal terms and phrases.
Webster's New World Law Dictionary. Wiley. 2006
Available online through EBSCOhost eBook Collection
