State and Federal Laws - ACCT 4065 / 5065 - Principles of Fraud Examination - Research Guides at University of Northern Iowa

State Laws and Reports

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
The US Legal section includes federal and state statutes and codes, rules and regulations, and court cases.

State of Iowa Auditor, Special Investigation/Fraud Reports
Cases involving organizations such as Clinton High School Band Boosters, City of Defiance, Scott County, and UNI.

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
This version of the Wall Street Journal contains the full text of articles back to 1984.
The Economist
Full text coverage: Jan 4, 1992 (Vol. 322, no. 7740) - present

Des Moines Register (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from the Des Moines Register; includes subject area search.

Financial Times
Full text coverage: May 31, 1996 - present (delayed 1 month)
Barron's
Full text coverage: Jan 4, 1988 (Vol. 68, no. 1) - present
Bloomberg Businessweek
Reports on news, ideas and trends affecting industry and the economy for those in business management, with national and international coverage.
Fortune
Gives top executives, and those working to reach senior positions in business information on the economic, political and social trends that affect the environment of business.
Fast Company
Provides information which empowers innovators to challenge convention and create the future of business

The following databases can be used to find laws of various types:

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Click the Look Up a Legal Case heading or the Search by Subject of Topic heading to get forms for searching U.S. and state court cases, statutes, and regulations, as well as law review articles.

Click the International Legal on left side of screen to get options for searching Canadian, EU, Commonwealth, and Other Nations laws (Hong Kong, for example).

U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission - SEC Enforcement Actions Against Ponzi Schemes
Timeline shows year-by-year enforcement actions such as those against Bernard Madoff.
Peregrine Financial Group CEO Sentenced To 50 Years For Fraud, Embezzlement, And Lying To Regulators
Press release from U.S. Attorney's Office for the Northern District of Iowa about the sentencing of Russell R. Wasendorf, Sr.