Dictionary of Battles and Sieges: A Guide to 8,500 Battles from Antiquity through the Twenty-First Century
Reference Collection D 25 J33 2007 (3 volumes)
The Hutchinson Atlas of Battle Plans: Before and After
Reference Collection D 25 H88 1999
Rod Library owns or provides online access to numerous encyclopedias about war, many focused on a particular war or era. Some examples are listed below. To find additional encyclopedias, access Books/Media and use the search pattern of
[country name] AND encyclopedi* AND war
substituting [country name] with the name of the country in which the battle you are studying occurred.
Encyclopedia of American Military History
Reference Collection E 181 E63 2003 (3 volumes)
Examines wars in which the United States has participated, from colonial wars to the events of 9/11/01. For each war, provides signed essays of the "causes, courses, and effects" of America's wars; key individuals involved; technological developments; and weapons systems.
The American Revolution, 1775-1783: An Encyclopedia
Reference Collection E 208 A433 1993
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political, Social, and Military History
Reference Collection E 468 E53 2000 (5 volumes)
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Civil War
Available online through ebrary
Twentieth-Century War and Conflict: A Concise Encyclopedia
Available online through ebrary
Encyclopedia of the Second World War
Reference Collection D 740 H64 1989
The Hutchinson Atlas of World War Two Battle Plans: Before and After
Rod Library Stacks D 743 H84 2000
The Pacific War Encyclopedia
Reference Collection D 767.9 D86 1998
Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II
Reference Collection D 843 E46 1999 (4 volumes)
Korean War Reference Library
Available online through Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History
Reference Collection DS 557.7 E53 1998
Available online through ebrary
The Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars: The United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq Conflicts
Reference Collection DS 63.1 E453 2010 (5 volumes)
