Essential Rod Library Tools

- UNISTARSearch for books and other library materials.
- Subjects A-ZFind databases in subject field and search simultaneously.
- Databases A-ZSelect a database from this alphabetical list.
- Ask Us!Chat, email, call, visit, or text.
- Undergraduate Guide to Rod LibraryIncludes: Understanding the library, Doing research at the Rod, and Specific research needs.
- Graduate Student Research GuideIncludes: General library information, research at the Rod, FAQ, etc.
Get Dissertations from Another Library
If there is a dissertation or thesis that you need but Rod Library doesn't have full access to it, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Follow the link below to submit your request:
About this Guide
This guide is designed to assist you in finding both newer and older dissertations. If you are having trouble locating what you need, please contact a Reference librarian. We will be happy to help you!
Click on the yellow tabs above to find out how to find dissertations, both old and new.
Use Databases to find Newer Dissertations
ProQuest help pages for finding and getting dissertations:
Proquest - Finding the Disseration or Thesis You Need
Proquest - Dissertation Print Copies for Researchers
The following are databases you can use to find dissertations. They are available on the Rod Library Home Page under the Articles tab. Click on Databases A-Z.
- Dissertations & Theses: A&I (ProQuest)With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of Northern Iowa (ProQuest)Contains citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by the University of Northern Iowa and published in UMI's Dissertation abstracts database; UNI users may download the full text of the dissertations from 1996 forward.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsAn international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
Resources for Older Dissertations
To find abstracts of dissertations not included in the databases (older dissertations) see:
(1963-1988)
American doctoral dissertations
UNI Stacks Z 5055 .U49D7
(1955-1963)
Index to American doctoral dissertations
UNI Stacks Z 5055 .U49D7
(1933-1955):
Doctoral dissertations accepted by American universities
UNI Reference Z 5055 .U49D6
Library Assistant |
Contact Info Rod Library University of Northern Iowa 1227 West 27th Street Cedar Falls, IA 50613 Phone: (319) 273-2839 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Related Subject Guides
We have a few that are related to the topic of finding dissertations. Here are a few more helpful guides:
- UNI Subject GuidesA full listing of all the guides provided by UNI librarians on a variety of subject areas.
- Introduction to Rod LibraryAn introduction to Rod Library and the services it provides.
- UNISTAR: UNI System to Access ResourcesLearning more about the library catalog used at Rod Library.
- Research TipsBasic research tips.
- Boolean SearchingTips to making your search more effective.
- Narrowing and Broadening Your TopicToo many results? Not enough results? Learn to narrow or broaden your topic.
- Citing Sources and Style GuidesDifferent citation styles.
- Call Numbers & Classification Systems @ Rod LibraryLearn how to find materials on the library shelves.







Loading...
