Welcome!
Welcome to the LibGuide for French Literature!
On these pages, you will find bibliographies, literary dictionaries & encyclopedias, biographical sources, history & criticism, short stories, poetry & drama, and internet resources on French literature as well as resources to help you identify journal articles and books on French literature in the Rod Library. The main tabs under Literatures of Modern Languages provide additional information on searching for literature.
- UNISTAR -- Find books @ the Rod Library!
- Journal SearchSearch for a known article or see if we have a journal you want
- Subject Searches @ Rod LibrarySearch multiple Library databases at once by subject area
- Databases A-ZA listing of all databases we subscribe to. Go here to check out where else you could find the research you need.
- Ask Us!Research help by email, chat, telephone, or SMS (text message)
- Research ConsultationMeet with a librarian one-on-one for help!
Indexes to Articles
The following databases should be helpful in finding French literture and articles about French literature.
- LexisNexis AcademicIndexes many international newspapers.
- Literature Criticism OnlineThis database includes the following Gale series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review.
- MLA International BibliographyThis is the definitive index to periodicals, books, and dissertations in modern languages and literatures.
UNISTAR Library Catalog
Use UNISTAR to Find Books
Use UNISTAR, the online catalog, to identify books and other resources on French language, literature and culture. Subject searches should be done using appropriate subject terms identified in the Library of Congress Subject Headings books which are located at the UNI Reference Desk. Examples of useful subject headings are:
Art,
French
French
drama
French language--Grammar
French literature--History and
criticism
French literature--Philosophy
French literature--Translations
into English
French poetry
French poetry--To 1500
France--Civilization
France--Intellectual life
France--Social life and customs
Motion pictures, French
Short stories, French
Information of a certain time period may be identified by adding a century to the subject heading. Example: Art, French--18th century; French literature--17th century--History and criticism. If you have trouble identifying the correct subject heading, you may perform a Keyword search using the terms you want to find. You can then look through your results and when you find a source that looks promising, you can look at the subject headings given for that source and click on those subject headings to find more sources like it.
Persons wishing to find resources written in French should click on the button at the top of the screen of your search results set and then select the French language from the Language drop-down menu. Or you may click on the Advanced Search tab at the top, type in your search and limit your search to French language materials from the beginning.
Reference Librarian & Bibliographer |







Loading...
