This is the "Start Here" page of the "German Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

German Literature   Tags: german literature, literary criticism  

Last Updated: Oct 10, 2011 URL: http://guides.lib.uni.edu/german-literature Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the LibGuide for the Study of German Literature!  Here you will find bibliographies, literary dictionaries & encyclopedias, biographical sources, history & criticism, short stories, poetry & drama, and internet resources on German literature as well as resources to help you identify journal articles and books on German literature in the Rod Library.  The main tabs under Literatures of Modern Languages provide additional information on searching for literature.

      

    Indexes to Articles

    The following databases should be helpful in finding German literature and articles about German literature.

    • LexisNexis Academic
      Indexes many international newspapers.
    • Literature Criticism Online
      This database includes the following Gale series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review.
    • MLA International Bibliography
      This is the definitive index to periodicals, books, and dissertations in modern languages and literatures.
     

    UNISTAR Library Catalog

    Use UNISTAR to Find Books

    Use UNISTAR, the online catalog, to identify books and other resources on German language, literature and culture. Subject searches should be done using appropriate subject terms identified in the Library of Congress Subject Headings books which are located at the UNI Reference Desk. Examples of useful subject headings are:

         Art, German
         German drama
         German language--Grammar
         German language--Spoken German
         German literature--Bibliography
         German literature--Germany (East)
         German literature--History and criticism
         German literature--Middle high German, 1050-1500
         German literature--Translations into English
         German poetry
         German poetry--Themes, Motives
         Germany--Civilization
         Germany--Intellectual life
         Germany--Social life and customs
         Motion pictures--Germany
         Short stories, German

    Information of a certain time period may be identified by adding a century to the subject heading. Example: Art, German--19th century; German literature--17th century--History and criticism. If you have trouble identifying the correct subject heading, you may perform a Keyword search using the terms you want to find. You can then look through your results and when you find a source that looks promising, you can look at the subject headings given for that source and click on those subject headings to find more sources like it.

    Persons wishing to find resources written in German should click on the Modify Search button at the top of the UNISTAR search results screen and then select the German language from the Language drop-down menu. Or you may click on the Advanced Search tab at the top, type in your search and limit your search to German language materials at the same time.

        

      Reference Librarian & Bibliographer

      Profile Image
      Barbara Allen
       
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip