Portal to online and print databases, journals, books, and websites covering the history of higher education
- Google Books
Google Books has scanned over 20 million books. Books published before 1923 (before copyright) can generally be viewed in their entirety.
Google Books Advanced lets you limit by publication year.
A smaller - but cleaner - version of Google Books.
Unlike Google Books - HathiTrust has a very strong and rich collection of both historic and modern U.S. Government publications.
When using HathiTrust be sure to:
1. Click on "Advanced full-text search"
2. Click on the "Full view only" box
3. Limit the "Year of publication"
NewspaperARCHIVE covers thousands of small town and midsize city newspapers well back into the mid-18th century. (Note 18th century newspapers in this database tend to be mostly British - but remember - in the mid-18th century the "Colonies" were mostly British).
Warning - this database does have issues. For many newspapers only a few scattered years are available. It is also difficult to control with search logic. Still, it is often the most viable option for very old news.
To begin - click on "Search" in the black tool bar. Be sure to indicate the date range you are interested in.
- America: History & Life
A secondary source for books as well as magazine and scholarly articles.
Important - This is the only database you can limit by Historical Period. In other words you can actually enter 1640-1780, 1780-1860, 1860-1920, etc.
Request what you find via interlibrary loan if the Rod Library does not own a particular item (requested articles will arrive in a few days - books in a few weeks).
A source for scholarly historical research.
To use JSTOR:
1. Click on "Modify"
(which puts you into Advanced Search)
2. Slide down the page and put a check in the "History" box.
This education database points to articles, books, and reports (Eric Documents).
- Rod Library Books/Media search (advanced)
This is the Rod Library catalog. The Rod Library provides roughly 1 million books in print and over 100,000 ebooks.
Advanced Search allows for additional features such as subject searching and limiting by material type, date, and language.
Consider searching for "higher education" and "history" in search blanks limited to "SUBJECT:" (rather than "Keyword")
This is a global library catalog (the catalog of catalogs).
Use WorldCat to search for millions of books. Request what you find via interlibrary loan if the Rod Library does not own a particular item (if the item is a book allow 1-2 weeks for delivery).
Universitities often tend to change names over time:
1876 - 1909 Iowa State Normal School,
1909 - 1961 Iowa State Teachers College,
1961 - 1967 State College of Iowa,
1967 - present Northern Iowa University
If you are looking for primary materials on a university - be sure to use the appropriate name of the institution during that time period.