Books and Government Documents @ Rod Library
Use Rod Library's online catalog, UNISTAR, to search for books and government documents
- UNISTARIf you are looking for materials on immigration policies, you would want to do a keyword search with the following terms: immigra*AND policy
immigra*= immigrant, immigrants, immigration
If you are looking for a congressional hearing on immigration, you would want to do a keyword search with these terms: immigra*AND policy AND hear*
hear* = hearing, hearings
Databases @ Rod Library
- Databases A-Z
- America: History and Life (EBSCO)America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
- CQ ResearcherThe CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryAs a digital repository for the nation's great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions. HathiTrust was conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system to establish a repository for these universities to archive and share their digitized collections.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- JSTOR
- Lexis Nexis Academic
- ProQuest CongressionalCommittee Prints, Hearings, House & Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, Legislative Histories, and Serial Set (not always full-text)
- New York Times (1851-2009): ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- Project Muse
Online Resources & Websites
- FDSysGPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes. This advanced digital system will enable GPO to manage Government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government.
- Registry of U.S. Government Publication Digitization Project
- Open CRS (Congressional Research Services)
- Digitized Primary American History Sources
- American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
- GPO Monthly Catalog
- Primary Sources for History of the 20th Century
- Historical Census Browser
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
- National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
- Government 101: How a Bill Becomes Law
- How Laws are Made (Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids)
- How Our Laws are Made (THOMAS/Library of Congress)
Newspapers & Journals
The Washington Post (1974-)
- 1974-1977 available on UNI Microfilm
- 1977-current available online (LexisNexis Academic)
- 2003-current available online (EBSCOhost Newspaper Source Plus)
Congressional Digest (1921-)
- UNI Periodicals (1922-current)
- 1985-current available online @ EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite
- 1921-current available online @ EBSCOhost MasterFILE Premier
- UNI Ref JK1.C66
- 1998-current available through multiple online databases
- 1969-1970 available on UNI Microfilm
- 1971-2004 available in UNI Stacks JK1.N28
- 2004-current available in UNI Ref JK1.N28
- 1998-current available in Lexis Nexis Academic
- 1985-current available through multiple online databases
Federal Government Documents and Reference Materials
Congressional Serial Set
UNI Docs v. 1037-13309 bound and shelved after Y.4: (incomplete)
UNI Docs Fiche v.1-37 American State Papers and v. 1-2160 Serial Set
Congressional Record; 1873 –
(formerly Annals of Congress 1789-1824, Register of Debates 1824-1837, Congressional Globe 1833-1873)
UNI Docs X 1: and X 1.1: (title varies)
Federal Register
1994-current available online at www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action
1980-current available online through ProQuest Congressional
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
1996-current available online at www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionCfr.action
1981-current available online through ProQuest Congressional
United States Congressional Hearings
UNI Docs Y.4:
Presidential Papers
UNI Ref Desk CBT J 81.3 .C35 1995 CD-ROM (2 hour checkout)
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
http://quod.lib.umich.edu/p/ppotpus/
UNI Ref J80 .A283
Statutes at Large (United States) (1789-)
www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action
UNI Documents AE 2.111: (e.g. 65 Stat 767 ... volume 65, p. 767)
Public and Private Laws
www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action
Compilation of Presidential Documents
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CPD
Need Assistance in Your Research?
- Ask Us!
- E-mail, chat, text message, phone, or in person
- Research Consultation
- Individual students and faculty can request extensive assistance with a research project by scheduling a research consultation with a librarian. A research consultation normally lasts about an hour. The librarian and researcher will discuss resources and strategies oriented toward a specific topic
Reference Librarian & Bibliographer |
Links: Profile & Guides |







Loading...
