This is the "Home" page of the "Humanities III: World War II Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Humanities III: World War II Resources   Tags: books, concentration camps, newspapers, posters, relocation, war, women, workforce, world war ii  

Last Updated: Oct 14, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uni.edu/humanities Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Primary Sources vs. Secondary Sources

Primary Sources in History
A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event. Some types of primary sources include speeches, letters, interviews, news, hearings, and magazine articles written at the time when the event occurred.

Secondary Sources in History
A secondary source interprets and analyzes primary sources. These sources are one or more steps removed from the event. Secondary sources may have pictures, quotes or graphics of primary sources in them. Some types of secondary sources include: histories, criticisms, commentaries, encyclopedia entries, a journal or magazine article which interprets or reviews previous findings years after the event occurred.

      

    Rod Library Resources

    • UNISTAR: Online Library Catalog (Advanced Search)
      You can search UNISTAR by keyword, subject, title, journal title, and/or author. Some subject headings that can be used in a subject search of UNISTAR are World War, 1939-1945, World War, 1939-1945 -- Art and the war,World War, 1939-1945 -- Atrocities, World War, 1939-1945 -- Biography, World War, 1939-1945 -- Campaigns, World War, 1939-1945 -- Children, World War, 1939-1945 -- Drama
    • Databases A-Z
    • New York Times (1851-2010): ProQuest Historical Newspapers
      This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
    • NewspaperARCHIVE
      NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1607 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content.
    • Digitized Primary American History Sources
    • Digitized World History Sources

    Primary Sources in Rod Library

    Pre-1985 print journals are located in the compact shelving area on the bottom (1st) floor of the library.  

    Here is a list of magazines that cover the World War II time period:

    • Newsweek: Compact Periodicals AP2.N6772  (1937--)
    • Magazine: Compact Periodicals AP2.T37 (1923--)
    • Harper’s Magazine: Compact Periodicals AP2.H3 (1913-1976)
    • Ladies' Home Journal: Compact Periodicals AP2.L135 (1900 --)
    • Vanity FairCompact Periodicals AP2.V36 (1914 --2002)
        

      Digitized Collections and Resources

      • Densho Website
        Densho's mission is to preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II before their memories are extinguished. We offer these irreplaceable firsthand accounts, coupled with historical images and teacher resources, to explore principles of democracy and promote equal justice for all.
      • Digital History (University of Houston)
      • Historic Government Publications from World War II (Southern Methodist University)
        The Historic Government Publications from World War II contains 343 Informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) during the Second World War. The documents are held by SMU Central University Libraries' Government Information Resources department.

        The documents, which reflect the thinking of the time, range widely in topics. You can view information on many categories, such as women's issues, children's issues, pocket guides to other countries, and more. You can view series, like the Victory Bulletin and 10 issues of the State Summary of War Casualties.
      • JARDA - Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives (Univ. of California)
        Covers the evacuation of persons of Japanese ancestry on the U.S. mainland and in Hawaii during World War II by the War Relocation Authority (WRA).
      • List of World War II Letters (Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project) UNC-Greensboro
      • U.S. Army in World War II Series
      • WAVES on Campus (Women Accepted for Volunteer Emergency Service) - UNI  
          
        During World War II, the Iowa State Teachers' College provided housing, facilities, and training for units of the U.S. Navy and the Army Air Corps. After the 1942 Fall term, the women housed in Bartlett Hall moved to the newly-completed Lawther Hall to make room for approximately 1,000 WAVES. The WAVES remained on campus until May 1945.

        The IOWAVE booklet contains mainly photos, but also includes an essay The Navy at Cedar Falls 1942-45. The January 1943 issue of the Alumnus publication highlights the WAVES, as well as The Hobo Day (cut day) and Dance with "jiving".

        The IOWAVE magazine focused on the activities of the WAVES who were being trained at the Naval Training School temporarily located on campus, and the IOWAVE newspaper included many articles regarding the day-to-day life of the WAVES trainees, as well as articles chronicling the ongoing progress of the war effort.

      • World War II Collection (University of North Texas)
        The World War Two Collection contains materials that focus on the World War II era, 1939-1945, and the immediate postwar period of the late 1940s. In addition to materials that were actually created during the era, the collection may include modern studies and commemorative works about the era.
      • World War II Posters (University of North Texas)
      • World War II Press Clippings (Univ. of Iowa)
        Iowa newspaper clippings documenting Iowa's war efforts both at home and on foreign soil. More than 30 topics are covered by the clippings, including business and labor, casualties, education and training, farming and food, production and rationing, public health, life and activities, women's military involvement, prisoners of war, and warships.
      • WWII Propaganda Films (Indiana University)

      Reference Librarian & Bibliographer

      Maps of Rod Library

      • First (Bottom) Floor
        Microfilm, Maps & Atlases, Government Documents, Periodicals, Index & Abstracts, UNI Museum
      • Second (Main) Floor
        Learning Commons, Digital Media Hub, MultiService Center, Reference Collection, Research Help Desk, Information Desk, Circulation, Book Bistro, KIC Scanner, Color Printer, Regular Printers
      • Third Floor
        Stacks A-K, Youth Collection, Special Collections and University Archives, CIEP Collection
      • Fourth Floor
        Stacks L-Z, Fine and Performing Arts Collection
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip