Skip to main content
Site Index | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research help | Find Articles & Books

Internship Resources: Directories

Selected Internship Web Sites

The following Websites are among those permitting intern and job seekers to search for available internships at no charge.  As with all Websites, we advise you to review each site's privacy policy, fees, and other policies before entering personally-identifying information or posting your resume online.    

www.internships.com

www.internjobs.com
"Global database of internships and entry-level positions for students, recent graduates, and career changers"

Internships and Part-Time Jobs (from www.aftercollege.com)

www.internqueen.com
"Intern Queen" Berger provides advice and searchable listings of internships

CollegeGrad.com
Search function may be used to search for college-level internships.

Monster.com
From the Jobs tab, choose Advanced Job Search to identify internships by job title, company, posting date, and location.

Internship Directories

Rod Library acquires internship and business directories. Some directories are available in the Career Collection, on the west side of the Rod Library’s main floor. Additional resources are available in the Reference Collection, in other Library locations, or accessible through the Web. 

Ferguson Career Resource Guide to Internships and Summer Jobs.  by Carol Turkington.  New York: Ferguson, 2006.
UNI Career Reference LC 1072 I58T87 2006 volumes 1-2

Vault Guide to Top Internships.  New York: Vault, 2005.
UNI Career Reference LC 1072 I58V38 2005

Vault/Inroads Guide to Diversity Internship, Co-op, and Entry-level Programs. (2nd edition). New York: Vault, 2007. 
UNI Career Reference and Circulating HF 5549.5 M5V38 2007

Internships.  Lawrenceville, NJ: Thomson Peterson's, 2005.
UNI Career Reference HD 5715.2 I6 2005
Listings are categorized according by industry (the type of company or organization sponsoring the internship). Consult both the Table of Contents and the Field of Interest Index to find internship programs since most of the sponsors offer positions in a variety of career areas beyond their specific field.

The Internship Bible.  by Mark Oldman & Samer Hamadeh. New York: Random House, 2003.
UNI Career Reference LC 1072 I58I46 2003

The Best 106 Internships.  by Mark Oldman & Samer Hamadeh.  New York: Random House, 2000.
UNI Career Reference LC 1072 I58A54 8th ed.

Business Directories

Plunkett's Companion to The Almanac of American Employers: Mid-Size Firms.  by Jack W. Plunkett. Houston, TX: Plunkett Research, 2014.
Rod Library Career Reference HF 5382.75 U6A452 2014; earlier in Stacks

National Job Bank.  Avon, MA: Adams Media, 2007.
Subtitled "The Complete Employment Guide to Over 20,000 American Companies."
Rod Library Career Reference  HF 5382.75 U6N38 2007

Iowa Business Directory.  Omaha, NE: referenceUSA, 2015.
Rod Library Reference HF 5065 I8I58 2015/16 volumes 1-2; earlier editions in Special Collections

Hoover's Company Profiles
Profiles more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives.  Use this database to research companies (such as Deere & Company) and industries (such as machinery industry).

For a guide to additional company directories (electronic & print) available through Rod Library see the Company Information guide at http://guides.lib.uni.edu/company

Other Directories

Health Care Careers Directory.  American Medical Association. 40th edition
UNI Career Reference R 847 H42 2012/2013

Membership/Agency Directory & Advertisers.  Iowa Park & Recreation Association.
UNI Reference GV 54 I8I56 2013

National Directory of Children, Youth & Families Services
UNI Reference HV 741 N3157 2012
1000-page directory of governmental and non-governmental agencies providing social, health, justice, educational, or other supportive services.  

The Official Museum Directory.  Chicago: National Register Publishing, 2016.
UNI Fine & Performing Arts Reference AM 10 A2O4 2016 

For online career information and job banks see: Career Information & Job Banks Online.

Librarian