Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Linguistics: Start Here

About this Subject Guide

Linguistics explores the rich and varied subject of language.

This guide will help you discover some of the resources Rod Library has to offer on language-related topics.  But this is only a starting point--let your curiosity be the ultimate guide!

See also our TESOL subject guide.

Stageberg Linguistics Collection

Rod Library's Special Collections & University Archives has linguistics-related books from the collection of University of Northern Iowa professor, Norman C. Stageberg (1946-1972).

How This Guide Is Organized

Linguistics is a sprawling subject . . . 

Some tabs in this subject guide refer specifically to the broad topic of linguistics:

  • "Linguistics: Dictionaries"
  • "Linguistics: Encyclopedias"
  • "Linguistics: Handbooks"
  • "Linguistics: Web Resources & Organizations" 

Other tabs refer to topics associated with or potentially related to linguistics, but which can be organized under other headings:

  • "Language"
  • "Indigenous & Endangered Languages"
  • "Dialects"
  • "Translation & Interpretation"
  • "Sign Language & Braille"
  • "Nonverbal Communication"
  • "Visual Communication"
  • "Animal Communication"

Note that each tab in this second set includes pertinent dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, Web resources, and organizations all on one page.  WIth the exception of the "Language" tab (see "Book Sampler: Linguistics & Language" description below), an array of idea-inspiring books are also listed under these tabs.

For a taste of the many books available at the library on the vast topics of linguistics and language, inspect the contents of the "Book Sampler: Linguistics & Language" tab. 

The final two tabs in this guide offer suggestions for when you need to:

  • "Find Books"
  • "Find Articles"

Explore this subject guide and be intrigued by the many resources available at your library!