Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
LibGuides - Angie Cox

Instruction & Liaison Librarian

Profile Image
Angie Cox
Contact Info:
Phone: (319) 273-2839

Guides

Advanced Research Techniques for Communication Sciences and Disorders
by Angie Cox - Last Updated May 25, 2016
An advanced guide to search strategies and best practices for databases relevant to the field of communicative disorders.
Athletic Training
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Sep 8, 2016
The guide covers search concepts and tools important for students studying athletic training.
Tags: athletes, athletic training, biomechanics, human anatomy, human mechanics, kinesiology, musculoskeletal system, sports, sports injuries, sports medicine
Boolean Searching
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Aug 2, 2016
What is it and how can it be used?
Tags: boolean operators, boolean searching, broadening, database searching, narrowing, searching tricks
Business, Legal, Medical and Psychiatry Referral Information
by Angie Cox, Gretchen Gould, Barb Weeg - Last Updated May 4, 2016
This guide contains business, legal, medical and psychiatry referral information for the UNI and the Cedar Valley communities.
Call Numbers & Classification Systems at Rod Library
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Aug 3, 2016
Rod Library uses Library of Congress, Superintendent of Documents, and Dewey Decimal System to classify books. Read about them here.
Tags: call numbers, classification systems, dewey, documents call numbers, faculty toolkit, library of congress
Choosing a Topic
by Angie Cox - Last Updated May 4, 2016
Use this guide to learn how to find and develop a topic.
Tags: broadening, concept map, faculty toolkit, find topic, narrowing, thesis statement, topic
Citing Sources and Style Guides
by Angie Cox, Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Aug 30, 2016
Assistance in how to cite sources within the text and in a bibliography/works cited. Also assists in locating style guides in print and online.
Tags: apa, asa, bibliography, chicago style, citation makers, citing, endnote, faculty toolkit, mla, references, style guides, style manuals, turabian, works cited
Communication Sciences and Disorders
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Sep 6, 2016
A guide to search strategies and best practices for information sources relevant to the field of communication sciences and disorders.
Tags: aphasia, apraxia, audiology, augmentative and alternative communication, cochlear implants, communicative disorders, deaf, dysarthria, dysphagia, dysphonia, hearing, sign language, speech disorders, speech pathology, swallowing disorders, tinnitus, voice
Cornerstone - UNIV 1000
by Angie Cox, Anne Marie Gruber, Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Aug 20, 2016
This guide will help you locate topics, sources of information, and provide you with suggestions on where and how to search.
Cornerstone Videos
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jun 7, 2016
Contains short videos on how to search library databases and basic library searching tricks.
Tags: cornerstone, database, how-to, instructional video, search tips, tutorial
Educational Psychology (EDPSYCH 3148) - Forsyth
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jul 5, 2016
This guide was created to support Educational Psychology (EDPSYCH 3148).
Tags: education, educational psychology, psychology, research methods
Educational Research (MEASRES 6205) - Joram
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Sep 12, 2016
A guide to resources and best practices for educational research.
Tags: education, educational research, eric, google scholar, information literacy, research methods, web of science
EndNote Basic
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jul 8, 2016
This guide explains how to set up free, Web-based EndNote Basic accounts and how to gather, organize, and format references in desired styles. It also provides contact information for users interested in purchasing the desktop version of EndNote.
Tags: bibliography, citations, endnote, references, style
Evaluating Sources
by Angie Cox - Last Updated May 26, 2016
Is your source credible? Is it a journal or magazine? Learn how to determine the credibility of your sources.
Tags: academic, craap, credible, evaluate, faculty toolkit, magazine, peer-reviewed, research, resources, scholarly, sources
Finding Dissertations
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Oct 16, 2015
Assistance in finding newer or older dissertations.
Tags: dissertation, finding dissertations, finding theses, theses, thesis
Google Tools
by Angie Cox, Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Aug 14, 2015
Learn how to make the most of your Google searches.
Tags: advanced google books search, advanced google search, google, google books, google scholar, google tips, search, search strategies
Graduate Research in HPELS
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jul 5, 2016
Guide to resources for graduate research in Health, Physical Education, and Leisure Services.
Grantwriting
by Angie Cox, Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Mar 7, 2016
Tags: faculty toolkit, grants
Health and Medicine
by Angie Cox - Last Updated May 16, 2016
The guide covers search concepts and tools important for students studying health and medicine.
Tags: alternative medicine, diseases, drugs, epidemiology, exercise, health, health behavior, health education, health promotion, medicine, nutrition
How-to Videos
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jun 7, 2016
Contains short videos on how to search the library searching system (OneSearch!), library databases, and basic library searching tricks.
Tags: database, faculty toolkit, how-to, instructional video, onesearch!, search tips, tutorial
Japan (HUM 3122) - Dunn
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Sep 12, 2016
This guide provides links to news sources about Japan, particularly those that are free, published in Japan or in other countries.
Tags: japan
Measuring Your Research Impact
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jul 8, 2016
This guide will help researchers to measure and increase the impact of their published work.
Tags: altmetrics bibliometrics
Nonprofit and Youth Development
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Sep 21, 2016
The guide covers search concepts and tools important for students studying nonprofit and youth development.
Tags: charities, community development, fund raising, grants, nonprofit, philanthropy, volunteers, youth
Oral Communication-COMM 1000-Laura Sohl-Cryer
by Angie Cox, Jerilyn Marshall, Chris Neuhaus, Ellen Neuhaus - Last Updated May 6, 2015
This guide will help you locate topics, sources of information, and provide you with suggestions on where and how to search.
Orange is the New Black
by Emily Borcherding, Angie Cox - Last Updated Apr 15, 2016
2015-2016 common read book for students enrolled in University of Northern Iowa Cornerstone courses. This guide is a collaboration between Rod Library and the UNI College Reading and Learning Center.
Tags: common read, cornerstone
Peer Mentor Guide to Rod Library
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Apr 7, 2016
This guide supports Peer Mentors on the UNI campus. It will help them to locate topics, sources of information, and inform them of the services Rod Library provides.
Physical Education
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Apr 7, 2016
The guide covers search concepts and tools important for students studying physical education.
Tags: athletes, coaching, dance, exercise, games, human mechanics, kinesiology, movement education, olympics, physical education, sports
Readings in Psychology - PSYCH 6285 (Harton)
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Aug 27, 2016
A guide to search strategies and best practices for information information sources relevant to the field of psychology particularly in support of the Readings in Psychology (PSYCH 6285) course.
Ready Player One | The Filter Bubble
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jul 8, 2016
2014-15 common read books for students enrolled in University of Northern Iowa Cornerstone courses.
Tags: common read, cornerstone, eli parsier, ernest cline, filter bubble, media & social media, reaching for higher ground, ready player one
Recent Climate Change - GEOG 2210 - David May
by Angie Cox, Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Sep 21, 2016
Provides access to articles on climate change in newspapers and popular science magazines. Tips on where to search and how to search.
Tags: climate change, global warming, greenhouse effect
Recreation and Leisure Services
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Sep 13, 2016
The guide covers search concepts and tools important for students studying recreation and leisure services.
Tags: games, leisure, leisure services, outdoor education, outdoor recreation, parks, play, recreation
Research Basics
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Apr 7, 2016
Learn how to use the library resources in your research process.
Tags: citation, evaluate sources, find articles, find library materials, find topic, research, research basics, search tips
Research Basics - Penny O'Connor
by Angie Cox, Chris Neuhaus - Last Updated Nov 5, 2015
This guide will help you locate topics, sources of information, and provide you with suggestions on where and how to search.
Research Methods for Sociology (SOC 2020)
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jul 5, 2016
A guide to search strategies and best practices for information information sources relevant to the field of sociology particularly in support of Research Methods for Sociology (SOC 2020) course.
Science Education
by Angie Cox, Anne Marie Gruber - Last Updated Aug 24, 2016
This guide provides links to databases, journals, websites, books, and dissertations/theses that focus on science education. Also includes tips on where to search and how to search.
Search Tips & Tricks
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jan 20, 2016
Results too narrow? Too broad? Use this guide to learn how to focus your research and to make your searching more powerful.
Tags: broaden, faculty toolkit, focus, google, help, narrow, research, search, tips, tricks
Sociology of Culture (revised February 2014)
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jul 8, 2016
This guide has been created in support of Professor Marybeth Stalp's Sociology of Culture (SOC 3060/5060) course.
Sociology of Gender - SOC 4050 (revised September 2014)
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Jul 8, 2016
This guide has been created in support of Professor Marybeth Stalp's Sociology of Gender (SOC 4050) course.
Tourism
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Sep 19, 2016
The guide covers search concepts and tools important for students studying tourism.
Tags: cities, community development, ecotourism, heritage tourism, sustainable development, tourism, towns, travel
Truncation
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Aug 14, 2015
What is it and how it can be used to broaden your searches.
Types of Information
by Angie Cox - Last Updated Aug 31, 2016
This guide identifies common information sources used at UNI. Learn where and how to find them, how to use them, and why they should be used.
Tags: bias, books, copyright, creative commons, digital archives, faculty toolkit, find articles, google, google books, google news, google scholar, government documents, images, magazines, news, onesearch, primary sources, research
UNI Healthy Campus
by Angie Cox, Ellen Neuhaus - Last Updated Sep 1, 2016
This guide supports the campus and Cedar Falls communities in which all members live long, healthy and productive lives.
Tags: exercise, fitness, health, health behavior, health education, health promotion, healthy eating, nutrition, stress management
 
 
Description

  Loading...