Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

SOC 2010 - Research Methods in Sociology - Discipline in US High Schools - Baker

A guide to key databases for research on discipline in US High Schools, evaluating sources, citing sources in ASA, and using interlibrary loan are also provided.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar links provided by Rod Library when off campus to link to research purchased for you by UNI.

To locate recent research  in Google Scholar you will need to use the "Since" option on the upper-left hand side of the results page.

To learn more about using quotes and the intitle: command visit Advanced Research Techniques: Google Scholar 

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts locates research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews.

Searches in Sociological Abstracts can be limited to the article title or abstract or subject heading.

Results in Sociological Abstracts can be limited by publication date and to peer reviewed journals.

Criminal Justice Abstracts

Link to the Crinimal Justice Abstracts database (EBSCO)

Criminal Justice Abstracts contains records to over 200,000 thousand scholarly articles published on criminology, criminal justice, criminal law, corrections & prisons, police and policing, criminal investigation, forensic sciences, and substance abuse and addiction.

JSTOR

JSTOR provides full access to older research.  

JSTOR searches can be limited to 94 journals in Anthropology, 11 journals in Criminology, or 150 journals in Sociology - some dating back to the 19th century.