Skip to main content
Site Index | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research help | Find Articles & Books

SOCFOUND 3119 - Schools and American Society - Opsal: Education Research

This guide provides pathways to research in education and the social sciences. This guide also serves as a portal to educational and demographic data - both for Iowa and for the United States. Finally this guide can also help you improve your ability to

Education Full Text

Education Full Text serves as a supplement to the ERIC database.

You can limit Education Full Text by publication date and, under Publication Type, it is possible to limit to "Academic Journal."

Education Full Text is particularly good with recently published information.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar links provided by Rod Library when off campus to link to research purchased for you by UNI.

To locate recent research  in Google Scholar you will need to use the "Since" option on the upper-left hand side of the results page.

To learn more about using quotes and the intitle: command visit Advanced Research Techniques: Google Scholar 

 

Education Index Retrospective 1929 - 1983

Education Index Retrospective searches earlier education publications from the twentieth century.

You can limit Education Index Retrospective by a range of publication dates.

It is also possible to limit by Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

 

JSTOR

JSTOR provides full access to older research.  

To limit your search to "education" check the "Education" box below the search blanks prior to searching. 

Setting JSTOR to "Education" will allow you to search the full text of 175 education journals - some dating back to the 19th century. 

 

ERIC

ERIC is your go-to database for education research.  The EBSCO version allows you to limit by publication date as well as education level and grade.  You can limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals and under Publication Type limit to "research" by choosing "Reports - Research".

ERIC also exists in a free version at https://eric.ed.gov/ that you can use after you graduate.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO is a powerful database for research into human behavior.  PsycINFO allows you to limit by publication date and age groups. 

PsycINFO will not only allow you to limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, but within the Methodology options you can limit to EMPIRICAL STUDY or more specifically to either a QUALITATIVE STUDY or a QUANTITATIVE STUDY.