Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

SOCFOUND 3119 - Schools and American Society - Opsal

This guide provides pathways to research in education and the social sciences. This guide also serves as a portal to educational and demographic data - both for Iowa and for the United States.

Economic Statistics

The Bureau of Economic Analysis provides statistics on Employment, Income, Consumer Spending, Personal Saving, Health Care Costs, and Regional Cost of Living. 

Uniform Crime Reports (rates of violent and property crime)

Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Statistics - UCR Data Tool.  This U.S. Dept. of Justice resource provides state-to-state comparisons across a wide range of violent crime and property crime variables.

Hate Crime Statistics (2016)

Nation's Report Card

The Nation's Report Card provides National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) scores for each state for grades 4, 8, and 12 in math, science, reading, and writing.

Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics provides data on employment, the unemployment rate, wages, benefits, the Consumer Price Index, and rates of inflation, 

Yearbook of Immigration Statistics

Health Statistics - Data.CDC.gov

Data.CDC.gov is the data repository for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.  Data.CDC.gov provides a tremendous array of data across characteristics such as drug use and drug poisoning mortality, disabilities, injury, teen pregnancy, motor vehicle mortality, vaccinations and disease.

Data.CDC.gov can be searched by characteristic (e.g. drug poisoning), or by desired geographic characteristic (e.g. county).  Data.CDC.gov data tables - which can be very large - can also be searched by specific location (e.g. Black Hawk County).

Hunger, Food Stamps / SNAP, School Lunch

    

Child Nutrition Tables provide state-level data on school breakfast and school lunch participation.

The Food Research & Action Center provides county-level data on SNAP (food stamp) participation.

Feeding America provides data on overall food insecurity by county.