Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

SOCFOUND 3119 - Schools and American Society - Opsal

This guide provides pathways to research in education and the social sciences. This guide also serves as a portal to educational and demographic data - both for Iowa and for the United States.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar links provided by Rod Library when off campus to link to research purchased for you by UNI.

To locate recent research  in Google Scholar you will need to use the "Since" option on the upper-left hand side of the results page.

To learn more about using quotes and the intitle: command visit Advanced Research Techniques: Google Scholar 

 

Social Services Abstracts

Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

Searches in Social Services Abstracts can be limited to the article title or abstract or subject heading.

Results in Social Services Abstracts can be limited by publication date and to peer reviewed journals.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO is a powerful database for research into human behavior.  PsycINFO allows you to limit by publication date and age groups. 

PsycINFO will not only allow you to limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, but within the Methodology options you can limit to EMPIRICAL STUDY or more specifically to either a QUALITATIVE STUDY or a QUANTITATIVE STUDY.

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts locates research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews.

Searches in Sociological Abstracts can be limited to the article title or abstract or subject heading.

Results in Sociological Abstracts can be limited by publication date and to peer reviewed journals.

 

    

Public Affairs Index

Public Affairs Index covers issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, and human and civil rights.

Searches in Public Affairs Index can be limited to the article title or abstract or subject heading.

Results in Public Affairs Index can be limited by publication date and to peer reviewed journals.

 

Web of Science

Web of Science (also known as Web of Knowledge) searches high-quality journals across all disciplines within the social sciences.

Web of Science offers a unique search system - search by "topic" (subject) - that often finds research hidden from other databases.

The results of Web of Science can be ranked by the impact a research article has had on the literature.