Use these tools to find the background information about your selected country, including about social welfare/human rights and political systems.
- Country Reports on Human Rights Practices (U.S. Dept. of State)
Use the "Countries/Regions" option in the light blue toolbar to select your country. Reports also available for some past years.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Background articles from encyclopedias and other reference sources. Sample searches:
India human rights
India human trafficking
India women's rights
- CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities".
Scholarly sources (5 required) include:
- academic/peer-reviewed journal articles (at least 3 of your 5 sources must be in this category)
- books (including e-books)
- research reports
Tips for finding sources:
- Use the OneSearch box on the library webpage
- Also try specific databases listed below. Note that each has a different focus & may contain different types of sources.
- Search for specific topics, NOT just a country name. For example, you'll get much more relevant results searching for human trafficking India compared with just searching India.
- Search by keyword, not long phrases. Skip words like a, an, the, and... Library databases (search engines) ignore these words just like Google does.
- Once you see some results, use Source Type limit on the left side to narrow to academic journals, books, news, etc.
- Books (including e-books) might be particularly useful for overviews of historical, cultural, and political information.
- LexisNexis Academic *News*
Indexes articles in news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Some full text articles available online.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO)
Criminal Justice Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to criminal justice & criminology. It contains more than 200,000 from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law & procedure; corrections & prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences & investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole. Over 270 titles with cover-to-cover coverage.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
Provides coverage of research, policy, & practice literature in family science, human ecology, human development, & social welfare. FSSW covers popular issues & meets the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science & family practice. Coverage from 1970-present, indexing publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history & social work.
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
Anne Marie Gruber
Spring 2017 Office Hours: most Mondays 1:30-3:30 outside McCollum 201; Tuesdays/Wednesdays 8am-10am in Rod Library 270Send Email