This is the "Home" page of the "Teaching Mathematics in Elementary Schools - MATH 3203 - Adam Feldhaus" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teaching Mathematics in Elementary Schools - MATH 3203 - Adam Feldhaus  

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.uni.edu/teaching-elementary-mathematics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases for Research on Elementary Mathematics Education

  • ERIC
    * * * *

    ERIC is the largest database devoted to education (1910 - present). To focus your search try limiting to either TI Title, or perhaps AB Abstract, or even SU
    Descriptors. You may also want to limit yor search by checking the box that limits results to "Peer Reviewed" articles. If you need articles that report original research in education - limit the "Pulbication Type" to Reports - Research. You can also locate articles that report original research in education by adding the word "study" to one of the search blanks and limiting to AB Abstract.

    To focus on Elementary Math Education:

    1. Scroll down the page to the "Education Level" options

    2. While pressing the control-key "Ctrl" - scroll through the options and highlight both "Elementary Education" and "Elementary Secondary Education" (it is also possible to select specific grades as well (e.g. Grade 1, Grade 2, etc.)

  • Education Full Text (EBSCO)
    * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

    This is a smaller, but often more current, database devoted to education. To focus your search try limiting to either TI Title, or perhaps AB Abstract, or even SU Subject. You may also want to limit yor search by checking the box that limits results to "Peer Reviewed" articles. If you need articles that report original research in education - you'll have some success by adding the word "study" to one of the search blanks and limiting to AB Abstract.

  • PsycINFO
    * * * * * * * *

    A great database for locating articles on mathematics and cognitive development and learning theory. To focus your search try limiting to either TI Title, or AB Abstract. It is possible to limit this database to very specific age groups and types of studies (e.g. empirical studies, quantitative vs. qualitative studies).

  • Web of Science
    * * * * * * * * * * * *

    A general database that is particularly good for locating high-impact research (highly cited articles from top tier journals). To find the most frequently cited articles:

    1. search on your topic

    2. sort the search results by "Times Cited -- highest to lowest"

  • Google Scholar
    * * * * * * * * * * * *

    Google Scholar is particularly useful for finding specific articles by title (after you've located the title of the article in the bibliography of another article).

    Google Scholar is also helpful when trying to identify highly cited articles and books. To locate recent research that has also been frequently cited - limit your search results by date.

    This link provides the "Find it! @ UNI" software needed to access many of the articles you will find.

  • OneSearch!
    * * * * * * * * * *

    Once you see search results, you can limit to source type in the left side-bar ("Peer-reviewed journals", for example).


Math Education Research - Survival Guide

    

     

Study-in-Abstract-Trick

To retrieve research:  

  1. use the "Advanced search"  
    (multiple search blanks)
      
  2. type your search in first blank
       
  3. type "study" in a second blank
    (and limit this blank to "
    AB Abstract")

Limit to Elementary Education

To focus on Elementary Education:

In ERIC  

  1. scroll down to the Educational Level Box
  2. press and hold "Ctrl" (control key)
  3. click on options "Elementary Education"
    and "Elementary Secondary Education"

 In Education Full Text

  1. type "elementary" in one of the search blanks and set to "SU Subject"
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip