Need Help?
Author SearchingTitle SearchingKeyword SearchingSubject Searching
This is the "Start Here" page of the "UNISTAR: UNI System to Access Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

UNISTAR: UNI System to Access Resources   Tags: find it!, online catalog, periodical record, records, search, searching for books, unistar  

What is UNISTAR? How do you search UNISTAR? What information is in a UNISTAR record? How can you email a UNISTAR record to yourself?
Last Updated: Mar 20, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.uni.edu/unistar Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 

Where is UNISTAR?

To Access UNISTAR, go to the Rod Library's home page.  Click on the Books and More tab, and then click on UNISTAR.

      

    What is UNISTAR and What Does it Provide?

    UNISTAR (UNI System to Access Resources) is:

    • Rod Library's online catalog and identifies material that is OWNED by the Rod Library such as books, videos, government publications, recordings, maps, and titles of periodicals (magazines and journals). 
    • Identifies titles to which Rod Library has purchased access, such as electronic indexes, databases, books, and periodicals, and a select number of titles to which the library has free access.  
    • Provides location and call number information so that you can locate library material once you identify it in UNISTAR. 
    • Provides information on periodical titles owned by the Rod Library and state what years of that periodical we own and will provide information on what years are available for journals to which we have electronic access. 
    • You may also use UNISTAR to idenitfy databases that index a specific journal. Just use the UNISTAR Journal Title search to bring up the record for that journal, click on the Find it button also known as sfx button button in the UNISTAR record, and then look to see if a database is listed that indexes that journal and click on that.  If no databases are listed, ask a librarian for assistance in identifying indexes that index the journal in which you are interested.

    Rod Library is a member of the Cedar Valley Library Consortium which includes libraries from the Cedar Valley area and collections located elsewhere on campus.  When you choose UNISTAR on the Rod Library home page, you will be searching only the Rod Library collection.   UNISTAR Library Catalog should be displayed at the top of the main UNISTAR menu page.  To search other libraries in this consortium, click on the Search Local Libraries tab on UNISTAR's main menu page.

        

      What Information Does UNSTAR NOT Provide?

      UNISTAR does NOT include archives and manuscripts, some maps, and does NOT identify individual articles within periodicals.  For information on how to find periodical articles, see Note below.

      Note: To search for articles within periodicals owned by Rod Library, go to the Rod Library home page and select a database from the Databases A-Z list.  If you do not know which database to use, click on Subjects A-Z (Panther Prowler) and select a subject area in which your topic falls.  You will be provided with a short list of databases appropriate for that subject area.  You may then click on an individual database to search or search all of those check-marked by entering a search in the search box provided (Panther Prowler search).

          

        Library Assistant

        Profile Image
        Angie Cox
        Contact Info
        Rod Library
        University of Northern Iowa
        1227 West 27th Street
        Cedar Falls, IA 50613
        Phone: (319) 273-2839
        Send Email

        Related Library Guides

        A subject guide is a guide developed by librarians that cover a specific topic or class.  At Rod Library, we have a variety of guides covering most subjects.  Here are a few helpful ones covering how to do basic research:

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip