Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

GEOG 4550 and 6550 - Senior Seminar - Water Resources - May

Best databases and tutorials for locating research on water resources, drinking water, groundwater or ground water, aquifers, hydrology, water pollution, and water rights.

Nexis Uni - Quality News from 1980 to Today

Nexis Uni – Getting to the News


Nexis Uni is the largest news database – but it also contains huge quantities of legal and business information (data, laws, court cases).

              

To get to Nexis Uni  …
 

  • Go to the UNI Rod Library website.
     

  • Click on Databases A-Z
     

  • Click on Nexis Uni

       

      

Limiting by publication or broadcast date:

It is possible to focus your Nexis Uni news searches to a specific date or range of dates.

First conduct a search (Nexis Uni is set to search for news by default).

Nexis-uni-news-search.jpg

 

Once you get your search results – you can limit your search to a particular time period by choosing the Timeline option on the left-hand side of the page.

 

Nexis-uni-limit-by-timeline.jpg

    

   

     

Limiting by publication type:

It is possible to focus your Nexis Uni news searches to a specific type of publication such as newspapers or radio/television transcripts (News Transcripts)

First conduct a search (Nexis Uni is set to search for news by default).

Nexis-uni-news-search.jpg

 

Once you get your search results – you can limit your search to a particular type of publication by choosing the Publication Type option on the left-hand side of the page.

Nexis-uni-limit-by-publication-type.jpg

Limiting by source before you search

It is possible to focus your Nexis Uni news searches by searching within a specific publication or source such as the newspaper New York Times or the transcripts from the radio news program NPR All Things Considered.

To limit to a specific source before you search:

  1. Click on the box labeled “A Publication
      

  2. Type in the name of a high-quality source in the “Find publication” box and then choose from the options presented.
      

  3. Type in your topic in the “Search for something specific?” box.  You can use LexisNexis commands like atleast5(your topic) and length>1000
       

  4. Click on the blue Search box.

Nexis-uni-a-publication.jpg



 

Nexis-uni-a-publication-step-2.jpg



 

Nexis-uni-a-publication-step-3.jpg

 

 

Limiting by source after you search

It is also possible to focus your Nexis Uni news searches by choosing specific publications or sources after you get your search results.

 

First conduct a search (Nexis Uni is set to search for news by default).

Nexis-uni-news-search.jpg

Once you get your search results – you can limit your search to a particular type of publication by choosing the Publication Type option on the left-hand side of the page.

Nexis-uni-limit-by-source.jpg

Policy and Legislation

JSTOR

e.g.  "Middle East*"  [full text]

          water            [full text]

Put a check in the "Articles" box under "Narrow By: Item Type"

Very important! Put checks in the Law and Political Science boxes farther down the page.

The * at the end of "East"     e.g. East*    finds: East  or East's or Eastern

 

Public Affairs Index

e.g.     water                [AB Abstract or Author Supplied Abstract]

          "Middle East*"   [AB Abstract or Author Supplied Abstract]

The * at the end of "East"     e.g. East*    finds: East  or East's or Eastern

                    

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online

Locates both journal articles and reports from institutes.

e.g.  

[with all of the words]       Canad*  and  water

[with the exact phrase]    United States

The * used in Canad* finds Canada or Canada's or Canadian or Canadian's

Nexis Uni - Law Reviews

Nexis Uni - Law Review Search

Law Reviews provide remarkably readable - if lengthy - insights into the legal history and current legal landscape of a topic.

To search for law reviews simply:

  1. choose that option on the first page
  2. use the atleast commands (with large numbers)
  3. limit date as necessary.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                      

                      

e.g. the search: atleast14("data collection") AND atleast20(privacy) AND atleast10(internet) will find law reviews that contain the phrase "data collection" at least 14 times in the article, the word "privacy" at least twenty times in the article, and the word "internet" at least 20 times in the article.

 



Use ! in Nexis Uni (rather than the symbol * ) to find different forms of a word ...

e.g. the search: communicat!

... finds articles containing the word communicate, communication, communicating, communicates, communicated, etc.

Nexis Uni - atleast and ! commands

Nexis Uni - length> command

Nexis Uni - Limit by Date, Type, and Source

 

 

 

Also