This is the "Research" page of the "CIEP - Writing 7 - Mike Williams" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CIEP - Writing 7 - Mike Williams   Tags: ciep, databases, research, search tips, topics, viewpoints, writing 7  

CIEP resource page for Writing 7.
Last Updated: Jan 3, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.uni.edu/writing-7 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How Do You Read Research?

How Do You Read Research?

 

Research is often long (10-20 pages) and can be difficult to read. 

To quickly read a research article that is outside of your discipline, read only the following sections of an article and skip the rest of the article:
              

  • Abstract
  • Introduction
  • Conclusion
  • Bibliography*

 

*Skim the bibliography for additional sources you can use.

Journal vs. Magazine

Journal or Magazine?

 
How can you tell the difference?  The chart below compares journals and magazines in a number of different ways.
 
 

Where Do You Find Research?


Licensed under Public Domain via U.S. Government

Where Do You Find Research?

 

Research can be found in OneSearch, library databases, the library catalog, and Google Scholar.

OneSearch

  • OneSearch is located in the middle of the library homepage.  More effective and efficient searches are done by using the Advanced Search.

Library Databases

  • Some of the library databases cover a wide variety of subject, but the majority of them cover specific subject areas. 
  • If you know the name of the database, you can find it in Databases A-Z
  • If you are unsure which database to use for your subject, refer to the box below or go to Databases by Subject.

Library Catalog

  • Individual articles can't be located using the catalog, but any journal we have access to can be identified using the catalog.

Google Scholar

  • The best way to use Google Scholar is to access through our library homepage to gain more access to articles compared to going to Google Scholar directly.  It can also be found here.
 

Dig Deeper into Databases

OneSearch! is a great place to start your research, but it doesn't always get exactly what you need. 

These subject-specific databases can be found in the Databases A-Z list or you can click on the names below. 

In most cases, try the databases in the order that they are listed.
   

Business

Education

Health

History

Science

Psychology/Sociology

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip