Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale Biography In Context
Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. Just like all the new revolutionary In Context products, it’s a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that's updated daily to meet the needs of today’s user.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Biographies, Literature Reviews, and Handbooks are designed to give a broad overview of a field of study. Use these resources to help you get an initial grasp of a topic.
Historical Dictionary of North American Archaeology by
Call Number: UNI Stacks E 77.9 .H57 1988
Publication Date: 1988
Short articles on prehistoric cultures, sites, and artifacts. Somewhat difficult to use due to poor indexing but necessary since there are few sources in this area.
Oxford Companion to Archaeology by
Call Number: UNI Reference CC 70 O96 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Covers "human fossils, historical sites, geographical areas, and the people, history, theory, and substance of archaeology."
Countries and Their Cultures Online by
Publication Date: 2001
This source has 225 entries organized by country and covers major issues, history, and social structure."...based on the collection of ethnographic information known as the Human Relations Area Files based at Yale University."
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by
Call Number: UNI Reference P 29 .I58 2003 (4 volumes)
Publication Date: 2003
This sources describes "many linguistic sub-specialties and concepts." Includes a "large number of articles on specific languages or language families, from Akkadian to Zapotec."
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by
Call Number: UNI Reference P 29 .E48 2006 ed.
Publication Date: 2006
9 volumes alphabetically arranged by topic or name. 14th volume includes a glossary and lists of world languages.
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Call Number: UNI Reference E 77 .G35 1998 (4 volumes)
Publication Date: 1998
Nearly four hundred native groups (including the Maya and Inca) in thirteen geographic regions are covered. Each group is represented by an article that includes historical and current issues of the tribe.
Current Literature Reviews
Handbooks to Anthropology