Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

MKTG 3116 - Marketing Research

This guide covers tools and resources important for students studying marketing research.

Articles

The library subscribes to databases that index journals and magazines in various subject areas. They can be accessed from the library home page under the headings Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z.  

Particular databases, such as the ones listed below, cover academic journals, trade journals, magazines, and newspapers in business.  

Many can be searched as a group via the OneSearch search form on the library home page; a search here looks at published sources in a wide range of fields, including business, education, and sports. Whether it's better to search OneSearch or a specific database varies from search to search.

Trade Journals

Trade journals can be a major source for marketing data and intelligence for the industries and markets they cover. They regularly publish special issues that may include, for example:  industry outlook; year in review; product sales and market shares; buyer's guides; and other statistics. Some trade journal web site articles are free and some are not. The Library subscribes to databases that contain articles from a wide variety of such publications.

Trade journal example:  Beverage Industry web site, Beverage Industry via library databases, such as ABI/INFORM. 

The business databases listed below are good tools for finding trade journal articles and special issues. 

Other Databases in Fields Like Education and Sports

Other databases may be appropriate depending on the topic; see Databases A - Z and Databases by Subject on the library home page. For example, students researching college-related topics may want to search Index UNI, the ERIC education database, and LexisNexis Academic, under News/College & University. Those researching sports topics may want to search SPORTDiscus (EBSCO).

Small Companies and Other Organization Types

To find articles about a particular company, someone, of course, must have written about it! If a company is small or new, it may have been covered only in local newspapers like the Waterloo Courier and Northern Iowan. There may be some information about small companies in directory databases such as ReferenceUSA.

Obtaining Full Text - Interlibrary Loan Service

Some library databases contain the full text of the articles they index.  If the database provides only an abstract (summary), look for a yellow Find It button or the words Find It @UNI; clicking this will open up a window that is supposed to indicate whether the full text is available in another database or in print in the library building. If the library does not have a particular publication, you can ask the library to borrow a copy from another library; this is called the Interlibrary Loan service.

Databases